Review: Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

I was intrigued and very interested at the thought of a YA Black Widow book as I have been a fan of the Avengers movies for years. However, as someone who has not ever read the “Beautiful Creatures” books, I was skeptical and unsure in the chosen author, Margaret Stohl. I have no history of this author’s writings so I cannot compare those books to this book. This review is purely on the writing of “Forever Red”.

Any one that has watched the Avengers movies has always wanted a Black Widow spin off, something to give us more of a background on Natasha Romanoff. Sadly, if this book was turned into a movie, I would have been bored by it. I was bored with the storyline and the characters. I did not feel a connection to any of them, Natasha, Alex, or Ava. Alex and Ava both have shaky ties to Natasha but that still doesn’t make them an interesting read. I understand Stohl was doing her best to keep the readers interested but it wasn’t enough for me.

I don’t want to say much about the plot without giving away spoilers, but I can say that it revolved around a Russian bad guy named Ivan Somodorov. Ivan has a very seedy past with an even worse reputation. Sadly I never got a good understanding of Ivan, which considering he is the main villain it would have been nice. Also, there was so much technical speak that I felt lost and confused. I wanted to understand what was going on, but it felt over my head. At no point did I find myself really dying to get back to this book and finish it.

I know there are a lot of YA readers are super excited about this book but Stohl hopefully realized that not everyone would love it. I will continue to watch the Avengers movies but I do hope this book is not turned into the Black Widow movie because it will not be well received. This story was a solid 3 stars, I liked it but did not love it.

Leave a Reply

