Review: Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

Servants of the Storm

 

This book threw me for a loop. I mean that in both good and bad way. As always, I am a sucker for a cover like this. It just screams at me to read it. It also helps that the premise of the book sounds amazing. Demons invading a small town and battling over souls? Count me in! To my dismay I was not completely in love with this book. There were certainly parts that had me rolling my eyes and skimming to skip others, but I pressed on because I had to find out what was going on.

Servants of the Storm is a story that starts with two best friends, Dovey and Carly, doing their best to survive a terrifying hurricane, Josephine, as it rips through their small town in Georgia. When the storm is over, Dovey survives, while Carly does not. For the next year, Dovey swears she sees her best friend all over town, ducking in and out of alleys and doorways. Fearful for their daughter’s safety, Dovey’s parents put her in therapy where she is given heavy medication. Something clicks in Dovey’s head and she decides to take herself off of the medication. That is when she starts to see her beloved hometown and the people in it for what they truly are – demons.

The world building in this story was simply amazing. Delilah S. Dawson really did a great job of interweaving horror, demons, paranormal, and unassuming small town life to make this the shining part of the story. The way the demons were presented was refreshing. Each demon had a separate story, with a clear personality. I enjoyed finding out more about each demon, what their rules are, and how they came to be.

With that being said, we need to discuss the main character, Dovey. While I enjoyed a strong female lead, I did not completely connect with Dovey. I felt annoyed with her at times for usually letting her emotions guide her decisions. That means the ever bothersome love triangle showed itself. A very unnecessary love triangle, at that. I still have not figured out why the author felt this needed to be a part of the story because it did nothing to enhance the reading experience. I did not feel swayed to cheer on one boy over the other, as they each had their separate roles in the story.

Overall I did enjoy this book. It was a 3.5 stars read for me. The ending left me scratching my head and wondering if I had missed a few pages. It did answer my questions but certainly not all of them. Rest assured this is a stand alone book so do not look to a second for any answers. You, the reader, are left to come up to your own conclusions. Although the questions will probably leaving you screaming, “WHAT?”

 

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

