Books Left Unread #10

Wallpaper-Books

Books Left Unread

Welcome to my blog post where I talk about the books I have been meaning to read, but just have not yet. You know what I am talking about – the books that have remained unread for various reasons yet when you see them you think, “You know, I really need to read that.” Instead you get distracted by another book, series, or something in your TBR pile. It happens to the best of us. I want to spotlight those books in the hope that I can persuade myself to move them up on my TBR list.

This week’s post is dedicated to the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes.

 

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1)

 

I have been eyeing this series for a while now but again, terrified to read because high fantasy books are tough for me to read. I can download the audiobook from the library and start this series… should I?

 

sara-signature1

Review: Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything

Look at that cover.

Just look at it.

I am guilty of judging a book by its cover and this is one of the best covers I have seen.

The story that goes with this cover is just as beautiful. Everything, Everything is the story of Maddy and Olly. Maddy has a very rare medical disease called SCID, a very rare immunodeficiency disorder that has her confined to her home. She is an incredibly intelligent, witty, and curious character. This is the only life Maddy has ever know and she has only mildly been curious about the outside world. All of that changed when Olly moved in next door. Everything Maddy had every known is flipped on its head and changed forever.

The characters in this story are amazingly written. I found myself so connected to Maddy and her struggle to not fall for Olly. Olly is so beautiful and sweet, regardless of the broken family he comes from. I found myself quickly cheering for both of them, secretly wishing I could just push them together. My love for these two knows no bounds.

All parts of this book are perfect. The writing is brilliant and eloquent. The doodles within the book really add to the story and give it a little something extra. Overall, this is a story of love and the lengths people will go to for true love. It also reminds you that life is mean to be lived and experienced. Please, do yourself a favor and read this NOW if you have not already.

 

sara-signature1

Review: The Conspiracy of Us

The Conspiracy of Us (The Conspiracy of Us, #1)

 

This story was so much more enjoyable than I thought it would be. It was such a happy treat as this story is YA version of The Da Vinci Code, and I loved that book!

 

Avery West is a sixteen year old who is used to moving a lot due to her Mom’s job. The fact that she moves so often has her accustomed to never truly settling down and making friends. One day at school, Avery has an encounter with the mysterious boy, Jack, that changes her life forever. Jack knows more about Avery than he lets on and pulls Avery into a world that she never knew existed. Avery is told about a family that she has never known and a secret society that apparently has incredible power and very influential. While trying to accept all of this new information, Avery meets Stellan, a dangerous stranger that is involved with the ‘secret families’ of this secret society. Stellan, Avery, and Jack take off on a wild treasure hunt all over the world. Along the way, they uncover hidden secrets long forgotten and things that could change the course of the world.

 

This book had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. It was fast paced and very well written. I actually had fun reading this book. That may sound crazy but it is true, I enjoyed it that much. The one thing that bothered me was the hint of the ‘love triangle’. I hate love triangles! If you ignore all of that, this is a very enjoyable read that will make you beg for the second book. If this book is on your TBR, I suggest you move it up on your list and enjoy.

 

sara-signature1

Waiting on Wednesday: When We Collided

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

When We Collided by Emery Lord

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

When We Collided

 

From Goodreads:

“Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn’t be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi’s zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there’s something important Vivi hasn’t told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.”

 

This sounds AMAZING and I am willing to give it a try, even if it is compared to We Were Liars (I hated that book). How about you? Do you want to read this or have you read an ARC? Let me know!

sara-signature1

Top Ten Books I Wanted To Love But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing my…

Top Ten Books I Read in 2015 And Wanted To Love But Didn’t

These are in no particular order…

 

The Killing Jar by Jennifer Bosworth. I just could not get into this book. I wanted to but was desperately confused.
The Killing Jar
Rook by Sharon Cameron. I was so bored with this one. It moved at a snail’s pace.
Rook
There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake. This book made zero sense to me.
There Will Be Lies
Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I wanted to love this book SO HARD but I DNF’d at page 118.
Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)
The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle. This was such a strange story that it left me puzzled.
The Accident Season
A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz. I stopped reading at page 34 because I hated every page of this story.
A History of Glitter and Blood
Everything That Makes You by Moriah McStay. I was bored to tears with this very predictable story.
Everything That Makes You
To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I wanted and tried to love this story but I just did not. 😦
To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)
The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige. I love a good retelling but this was not one of them. This story fell flat and turned terrible very quickly.
The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die, #2)
The Creeping by Alexandra Strowy. This story was trying to be more than what it really was and it was overall not enjoyable.
The Creeping
What books did you read in 2015 that you wanted to love but didn’t? Let me know!
sara-signature1

Review: After The End

After the End (After the End #1)

 

I am still trying to figure out how to review After The End. I picked up this book because I was looking for a good dystopian but this book was not a true dystopian. It felt as if it was a mash up of different genres: dystopian, fantasy, sci-fi, and contemporary. It simply did not know what type of genre it wanted to be when it grew up.

 

This is the story of Juneau, a teenager born and raised in a clan in the wilderness of Alaska. Juneau is raised with the belief that the people of her clan are some of the few left in the world due to the World War III that took place in 1984. Juneau is on a hunting trip when she hears a helicopter, thought to be no more due to WWIII, flying near her clan. She returns to find everyone in her clan gone, signs of struggle everywhere. That is when Juneau makes up her mind to set out on an adventure to locate her clan and bring them back. Shortly after she begins her journey, Juneau discovers that everything she was taught as a child – that the world ended with WWIII in 1984 – was a lie. Juneau has to quickly come to terms with the new world in front of her if she is to find her people.

 

Now that brief paragraph makes the story sound pretty good, right? Well, let me tell you a little more about what takes place and let you make up your mind. It turns out that the head of a very large and powerful pharmaceutical company has kidnapped Juneau’s people and this company believes that Juneau has the recipe for a powerful synthetic drug that can stop the aging process. You still with me? While trying to avoid capture by this company, the CEO’s son, Miles, joins the hunt to find Juneau. He is the stereotypical “bad boy” – he is suspended from high school for various bad boy reasons, which he does all for attention. He believes he will still be starting at Yale in a couple of months so the fact he is forced to work in the mail room of his dad’s company is beneath him. Miles believes that if he can find Juneau and bring her to his dad, his dad will forgive him of all his past transgressions and let him go to Yale with a clean slate. *sigh* Miles ends up locating Juneau and they team up on this crazy adventure to locate her clan all with the help of MAGIC. Juneau can apparently “commune with nature” which guides her in making all of her decisions. I’m going to stop right there. I am sure you have read enough.

 

 

This story started out with a bang and had me very interested. The more it went on and I could see this author was checking boxes off of their list on “how to write a YA story”, I checked out. When Miles found himself falling for Juneau, I was done. I struggled with Juneau’s constant innocence. In fact, it started to really wear on my nerves. I understand that she was raised to believe the world ended with the last world war, but you have found out that that was a lie so you need to get over it and adapt. There were just too many types of genres thrown in to this story: Fantasy (magic); Dystopian (end of the world); Sci-Fi (pharmaceutical company wanting miracle drug); Contemporary (two MCs instantly fall for each other). Do yourself a favor, skip this one. I am not upset that I read it but I certainly will not be picking up the second book in the series.

 

sara-signature1

Books Left Unread #9

Wallpaper-Books

Books Left Unread

Welcome to my blog post where I talk about the books I have been meaning to read, but just have not yet. You know what I am talking about – the books that have remained unread for various reasons yet when you see them you think, “You know, I really need to read that.” Instead you get distracted by another book, series, or something in your TBR pile. It happens to the best of us. I want to spotlight those books in the hope that I can persuade myself to move them up on my TBR list.

This week’s post is dedicated to Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

 

 

I KNOW, I know. I should read this but it is the usual story for me – so much hype around it that I am afraid I won’t like/understand it. So tell me, should this be my next read?

sara-signature1