Top Ten(ish) Books I Enjoyed From Not My Typical Genre

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing my…

 

Top Ten(ish) Book I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book

I was not able to find ten books outside of my typical genre, but I found seven. I went with books from historical fiction, thriller/mystery, and contemporaries. I want to read more of these but just have not ever done so. These are in no particular order.

 

between shades of gray by Ruta Sepetys.

Between Shades of Gray

 

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Naturals (The Naturals, #1)

 

Serpentine by Cindy Pon

Serpentine (Kingdom of Xia: Second Series, #1)

 

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)

 

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)

 

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places

 

What about you? What books have you read and enjoyed that are not part of your normal favorite genre?

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “Top Ten(ish) Books I Enjoyed From Not My Typical Genre

  1. Yikes, the only one I’ve read from your list is All the Bright Places! However, I do have Shadow and Bone on Kindle! I tried listening to ADSOM on audiobook but turns out I fall asleep really easy so that didn’t work out to well… I’ll try it again though!

    Like

  2. For me, it would be murakami’s books. Although some of them still touch on romance genre, but the approach and style is just too different from that of what I usually write. Ahhahah. I have read all the bright places too, but I could not enjoy it as much. Hahaha. Good list nonetheless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

