March Subscription Boxes: OwlCrate vs. Uppercase

Welcome to the March edition of OwlCrate vs. Uppercase! Which subscription box was better? As always, opinions stated here are my own, but I do want to hear what you have to say. Shall we start?

 

OwlCrate

OwlCrate always has a theme and March’s theme was “Writer’s Block”. I was curious how they were going to do an entire box around this but they delivered, sort of. I want to say I was surprised for a finished copy of The Serpent King but I’m not. Who doesn’t own a copy of this, or at least have it high on their TBR? This book is the bees knees right now and is beyond amazeballs (my review on it should tell you how much this destroyed my feels…) What I did really enjoy was the banned books socks and the mock feather pen. I felt as if I was writing a historical document when I tried it out. The book on “642 Tiny Things To Write About” was super cute but I highly doubt I will ever do anything with this other than give it away. Bookworm Boutique made a unique set of buttons just for this month’s box. I’m not a huge button collector so again, I may give these away too.

Here’s the skinny: OwlCrate’s monthly boxes are $29.99, before taxes. They do have monthly themes (April’s theme is Dystopians!) so you really never know what they may send you. Interested in signing up? You can do so here. It ships out on or before the 20th of every month.

921526c6-0abe-4b08-b89b-41f0e85fa642

 

Uppercase

Uppercase has no theme so you truly never know what book/goodies you will get, other than knowing it will be a current YA release. Personally, I was disappointed to receive Rebel of the Sands because if you read my arc review on it, I was not the biggest fan of this story. The other items in the March package were two stickers (only one shown, sorry) that were for the book, a signed bookplate, a pair of super adorable earrings, and a magnet. I’m not sure I need to express how underwhelmed I was with this month’s package. It felt like it was phoned it, it was just lacking something. This monthly subscription costs me $23/month (before taxes) and I kind of expected a little more than this.

Here’s the skinny: As I mentioned, the Expert Plan subscription is $23/month (before taxes). There is also a Book Exclusive Plan for $17/month (before taxes), but you lose out on the “1-2 high quality bookish items”.  You can sign up here. This subscription mails out on the 15th of every month.

26a419d4-a949-4fef-a0a2-6b32b45c4ca7

 

What are your thoughts? Do you think this is work the monthly subscription fees? How would you feel receiving these packages? Let me know, I really want to hear what you have to say.

 

sara-signature1

11 thoughts on “March Subscription Boxes: OwlCrate vs. Uppercase

  1. Bookish subscription boxes just do not appeal to me, which is weird because I’m typically all for them! I did a few beauty ones a few years ago. In any case, I am picky about books I buy for my shelves, so there’s that. And most the previous months titles I had or were not interested in at all. I would rather buy the fun add-ins on my own ya know?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have hit the nail on the head!!! If I want one of the new releases, I will go buy it. What I do really enjoy are the extras (which were lacking this month) and wish I could buy just those. Plus, I read ARCs of both of these books and were fine with owning the ARC alone. I don’t typically re-read books so now I have FC to shelf… or give away.

      Like

      1. Yeah, I have seen where they get their add-ins and stuff so I can google them LOL it’s fun to have unique and fun extras but. IDK. haha I guess I would rather use the money to subscribe and go get a book I want? 😀 😀

        Like

  2. I have been receiving both for the past couples of months. However, after my current 3 month subscription to OwlCrate ends I don’t think I’ll be renewing it. It mostly comes down to price and the types of books included. For where I live, Uppercase is much cheaper to ship. I have also really enjoyed the signed books from Uppercase. The upside to OwlCrate (and something that I’ll miss) is all of the bookish goodies. They do that part really well. The books though have been meh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am strongly considering canceling my subscriptions after what I received this month. It seems they were so much better when they first started and have gone downhill. You are correct – it will come down to price and what is included. Lately the books haven’t been signed, rather a signed book plate is included. That is not the same to me.

      Like

  3. I think it’s interesting that a bunch of products are coming out with subscription boxes — didn’t know that books were jumping on that bandwagon. Personally, I only spend money on exactly what I want, so signing up for surprises doesn’t appeal to me at all. I’d feel so cheated if I spent $30 and what arrived wasn’t satisfactory — that’s two bottles of decent wine I could have bought!

    Like

    1. There are a couple of other YA book subscription boxes but I don’t know what they offer. When I first signed up, it felt shiny and new, now that has worn off and I realized I am probably not getting my money’s worth. I can promise you that the boxes this month were not worth my hard earned money.

      Like

  4. I have never tried book subscription boxes before. I’m quite hesitant about them because they seem to be a hit/miss kind of deal. But the “642 tiny things to write about” looks pretty darn cute. As well as those buttons! I’d love to get my hands on them.

    But I’m really sorry that you’re disappointed with this month’s packages, especially when I’m sure that your money is all hard-earned. I hope the next time ends up being better for you!

    Like

    1. In the beginning, these subscription boxes were all hits! But the past 2-3 months felt like they have gone down hill fast. I am not sure if I want to give them one more chance to see what they deliver in April.

      Like

Leave a Reply

