ARC Review: The Darkest Corners

The Darkest Corners

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
Publication Date: April 19, 2016

 

HOLY COW. I was completely caught off guard and blown away by this book. It was so intense that I could not put it down, unless it was to go to work or sleep.

This is the story of Tessa and her struggle to face her incredibly dark past. Tessa is from a very, very small town where very bad things happened to her. She is the daughter of a convicted felon who robbed and attempted to murder a convenience store employee. She also was one of two small girls who testified against the man she swore murdered one of her best friends when she was 9 years old. Tessa returns to the town she left 9 years earlier to say goodbye to her dad who is dying in prison. Tessa is staying with her childhood best friend, Callie, who she hardly knows anymore. While Tessa and Callie are trying to figure out what really happened to their best friend that was murdered, they make the realization that they may have sent the wrong person to prison. She even uncovers secrets darker than she could have have ever imagined.

I really enjoyed reading Tessa’s character. I felt she was wonderfully complex and broken, with just enough light in her to make you think things would work out for the best. This poor girl goes through hell and back and is pushed beyond her limits. She develops so well over the course of the story, determined to find out what really happened and even admit that she may have been wrong. Callie’s character (her childhood best friend) was such a train wreck that I could not look away. I wanted to scream, strangle, and slap Callie throughout the entire book but I swear this story would not have been the same without her.

From the first page, this book will take a hold and not let go. This was a fast paced psychology thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I tore through it in two days because I had to know what happened! This story was very well written and it kept me guessing at every turn. I could not have predicted what happened, even if I had read the ending first (which I did not! I never do that). If you have watched “Making a Murderer” on Netflix, or if you enjoy thrillers at all, please add this to your TBR now. I do not think you will be disappointed.

 

sara-signature1

One thought on “ARC Review: The Darkest Corners

Leave a Reply

