Review: Becoming Jinn

Becoming Jinn (Becoming Jinn, #1)

 

This was a sweet and fun book. Jinn stories are becoming more and more popular in the YA genre so I was excited to read this story. Sadly, this did not live up to all of my expectations of a YA fantasy novel.

This is the story of Azra and how she becomes a full Jinn on her 16th birthday. She awakes to find that she has changed from head to toe to mirror the Jinn model. She is born into the Jinn lifestyle and knows what her future has in store for her, but she does not know everything of her past. Parts of her childhood are still a mystery. As the story goes on and Azra learns to grant wishes, she starts to uncover hidden parts of her past that will change her future.

I wanted more out of this story. What I read was a 16 year old girl that came across as a seriously spoiled brat that was focused on her looks. Her circle of friends were the exact same way. Several paragraphs and chapters were dedicated to explaining how long and beautiful their hair was and how toned and tan their stomachs were. I am not a fan of those stories. I was not a fan of Azra as a MC because of these reasons. The other thing that I did not like about this story was the dreaded love triangle. The story really did not need that to make it interesting. I felt it complicated the overall story.

The thing I did enjoy about the book was the world building. It was interesting to read about a place where magic is real, and so are the acts of granting wishes. I wanted to know more about the history of Jinn, the actual history of Jinn in the book, but it was barely touched upon.

The storyline overall was slow. It seemed like a lot of information crammed into the beginning of the story, with no real end goal mentioned. There was no sense of urgency or immediate danger of any kind. I almost was not sure what the point of the story was. The second half of the book finally started to pick up. Things were starting to move and you could see what Azra was heading towards.

While reading this book, I wasn’t sure if I would continue with the story but the ending sealed it for me. The bombshell that was dropped hooked me and had me realize that I had to know what happened. This was an interesting read, but you have to make it through the first half of the book and overlook some self-centered 16 year old girls to get to the good stuff. This series has some potential and I want to know how it continues.

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “Review: Becoming Jinn

    1. Those spoiled brats almost made me quit several times! I really don’t like when you have to struggle with the first half of a book to get to the good part. I hope the second book isn’t that way or I will quit it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

