Books Left Unread #22

Wallpaper-Books

Books Left Unread

Welcome to my blog post where I talk about the books I have been meaning to read, but just have not yet. You know what I am talking about – the books that have remained unread for various reasons yet when you see them you think, “You know, I really need to read that.” Instead you get distracted by another book, series, or something in your TBR pile. It happens to the best of us. I want to spotlight those books in the hope that I can persuade myself to move them up on my TBR list.

 

This post is dedicated to Jackaby by William Ritter.

 

Jackaby (Jackaby, #1)

 

 

I have had this book on my shelf for a while, no lie about that because it is the ARC of the book. OOPS. I was excited to read it and read a new (to me) genre, but like most of the time, I got distracted. 😦 I have even considered putting this in my #booksfortrade piles but I always stop myself. Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it?

 

sara-signature1

3 thoughts on “Books Left Unread #22

  1. I loved this book. Actually, let me re-phrase that: I LOVED this book, and blew right through the sequel, and literally felt sad that the third in the series isn’t out until this summer. It was witty, charming, humorous, appropriately serious when need be but not overly dramatic. Think of a slight cross of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes, with a dose of the classic monster movies…but that’s certainly not all. Jackaby is quite original, and there are plenty of strong, non-cliche female characters — a plus in a series of this genre, but especially because the author is male.

    I wrote a whole review myself. Hope some of my views help a little. 🙂

    Like

      1. You’re welcome. I hope you like it. I read it based on the recommendation of my local library’s director – and I never pay attention to recommendations (I’m picky) – but she knows what I like to read, because she sees my checkout receipts all the time! Sometimes we need that little type of ‘different’ nudge (not just a critic’s review or a friend’s idea).

        Like

Leave a Reply

