Six Month Blogiversary and Giveaway!

I had a realization last night that May is my six month blogiversary! My goodness the time has flown by. I have had so much fun that I forgot how much fun it can be to blog. I know, that sounds crazy but it is true! I actually have been blogging for a total of 4 years now, if you can believe that. In November 2015 I started A Gingerly Review and it has been an eye opener. Here are some things I have learned over these six months:

 

1. Blogging takes a lot of work and dedication. Sure, everyone will tell you this but until you stress about having something to post, it doesn’t really hit you. I have worries that I don’t have enough in my pipeline for the next week or so, then I scramble for content.

2. I worry about being creative enough. I wonder if I’m witty enough or creative enough in my posts to keep readers engaged. Am I posting the right topics that people want to read about? Am I being too honest or too brutal with some of my reviews?

3. No matter what – do not quit blogging unless you really want to. A few months after I started, I thought about quitting. Again. What put this thought in my head was a hashtag that started on twitter about blogger love and showing fellow bloggers love. I’m all for that so I jumped in tagging nearly every blog I could think of. It hit me hard and the wrong way when I received none in return. Now granted, I was not sending love to get some in return but a small part of me wanted to be recognized in some way, shape, or form. I wanted to be seen as part of the blogging community. That never happened and I felt so alone. I then typed some posts, set them to publish, and I took a break from all social media for about a week or so. I needed the time to figure out why I was doing this and I realized it was for me. I’m doing this because it makes me happy. I know I am but a small drop in the big bucket that is book blogging so I believe I was looking at everything with clouded eyes.

4. Read and post what makes you happy. That is the bottom line for me. Do/Read/Post what makes you happy and the rest will fall into place.

Do you have any words of wisdom? What have you learned from blogging? I’d love to hear from you.

 

So… how about a giveaway? To celebrate my six months I am hosting a giveaway for one June release book! US Only, sorry. 😦 The rafflecopter is below. 🙂 [if the coding below looks janky, please let me know and I’ll try to fix it.]

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

Thank you for a great six months and here is to many, MANY more!

 

sara-signature1

8 thoughts on “Six Month Blogiversary and Giveaway!

  1. Yeah, sorry, the code was janky. (Figured I’d try it to let you know if it works.)

    Good for you for keeping at this. It can be a very, unexpectedly, emotional thing. When you know people are reading your blog, but you try to reach out more than in a weekly post, and it’s like no one realizes you’re alive… Yeah, that’s hard. But you’re so right – do it first and foremost because it’s important for you to do it. Often the rest falls into place from there.

    I like your posts, I think you’re honest while being tactful, and I happen to be brave enough to share my views. Hope they help. 🙂

    Like

    1. Fixed the code – thank you!

      Thank you for the encouragement! I am determined to give this 110% and if it works, great! If not, at least I knew I gave it everything I had. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

