DNF Review: Traitor Angels (Here we go again)

Traitor Angels

 

This was me while struggling to read this book:

 

 

No lie. To say I struggled might not be a strong enough word. Trying to care what was happen was tough. I am learning to become a bigger fan of historical fiction books but this one pushed it. I let out the telltale heavy sigh and said, “Okay, let’s do this.”

This is the historical (mystery?) fiction of the epic poem Paradise Lost and Milton’s daughter, Elizabeth Milton. Elizabeth was trained in secret to read, write, and fight. She spends her nights helping her blind father translate his masterpiece, Paradise Lost. Her father was trying to live out his last days in peace when the King of England returns to the throne and makes the decision to  eliminate the people that could expose him and his dirty secrets. Elizabeth’s father is taken away by the King’s guard and to avoid detection, Elizabeth poses as a house servant. Elizabeth is then forced to partner up with a young man from Italy that she just met, Antonio. Apparently Elizabeth and her new partner are meant to discover the hidden secrets within the half-finished Paradise Lost, which will help save Elizabeth’s father and maybe tear the society apart.

I made it 74 pages before I put the book down and moved on. Nothing about this story truly grabbed me. The pacing was painful due to bouncing all over the place. There were times it was action packed and then just as quickly, the story would talk about things that didn’t matter at all – like what Elizabeth used to brush her teeth. The characters were just as bad. I did not like Elizabeth and I did not connect with her. I felt she was too sure of herself when she really was just a snot. I found nothing about her redeeming.

Part of me is upset that I quit this book, while the other is very happy I moved on. I wanted to read because I was hoping this would be like a Dan Brown “Da Vinci Code” type story but that was not the case. I found myself cringing when it came time for me to pick up my book and read – no reader should ever feel that way.

I cannot recommend this to anyone, not after what I read. I hope I am the black sheep with this book and others are able to enjoy this book the way it was meant to be enjoyed.

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Traitor Angels (Here we go again)

  1. Yeah, the DNF guilt – I felt that way for a long time about The Hunger Games. No, I’ve never actually read every single page of the whole trilogy. I “cheated” and looked online to find out the ending. The story sucked me in, hence I wanted to know what happened. But the writing style was really choppy for me and hard to follow, and there was so much violence, and I thought it got extreme and it just turned me off. Other people raced through every single page of all 3 books, tears and all, and couldn’t put it down. Me, I really dreaded trying to go back to the 2nd and 3rd book. So, I’ll stick with the movies…and feel good about my decision.

    Reading for fun should be fun. If something about the material doesn’t do that for us, we should feel guilt-free about leaving that selection for others.

    Like

  2. There is a lot of guilt associated with DNF, but it’s all good. Why waste your time on something you dislike? The Da Vinci Code was a DNF for me, and I felt so bad that I couldn’t get into such a popular book, but oh well. If you don’t find any redeeming feature, it’s time to move on and keep trying. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this one — it’s a shame, because the premise does sound good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

