Review: Ruined (NOPE)

Ruined (Ruined, #1)

 

You want to know what is really “ruined”? ME. And not in a good way. This book has a beautiful cover and a great premise, but neither of those could save this book. I’m not sure anything could have saved this book.

This story begins with Emelina Flores, the daughter of the Runied King, killing Princess Mary in the hopes of taking her place to marry Prince Casimir, the son of the King who murdered Emelina’s parents. This is all a part of Emelina’s plans to seek revenge for her parents murder and the kidnapping of her sister. There is also some romance involved, and maybe some fantasy, but those don’t really matter.

Let’s start with my overall thought of this story:

 

 

I really had high hopes for this book but like I mentioned, there was nothing that could have saved this disaster. This read like a mashup of Red Queen and The Orphan Queen. Allow me to list the similarities out for you:

Emelina wants to seek revenge for the death of her parents: TOQ

Emelina sneaks into the palace pretending to be the member of another royal family: TOQ

Small population of people within the kingdoms possess magical powers and the royalty feels threatened: RQ

Emelina falls for the Prince almost instantly: TOQ/RQ

Do you see the same pattern I do?

 

 

There truly felt as if there was nothing happening in this book. Every single thing felt predictable. If you have read one dystopian, you could guess what was going to happen in this book. I felt no sense of urgency, no tension, no panic, no romance, nothing. Let us not even talk about the severe lack of world building. SO MUCH was left unexplained! Who were the Ruined? How did they get their abilities? How many are there? Were they friend or foe? Truly we may never know.

Every single character felt flat and forgettable. There was nothing original about them at all. I don’t know what else I can say about them because I did not care for any of them. I cared even less (if that was possible) when Em (because she never went by her full name) began developing feelings for Cas after only a few days. OH MY GOSH. Enough with the insta-love! Please, make it stop. groan

It is pretty clear to see and read that I am not a fan of this story, nor can I recommend it to anyone. I don’t want anyone to suffer the way that I did. I was painfully bored out of my mind with this story since I already knew what would happen. Perhaps I will be the black sheep, yet again. Don’t forget, I am one of the few that despised Glass Sword when others raved about it. I just don’t believe I am the right reader for this story.

 

sara-signature1

6 thoughts on “Review: Ruined (NOPE)

  1. This makes me sad. I have a copy sitting on my shelf and I haven’t been able to bring myself to read it yet. Ugh! I was afraid of this. I also seen other reviews with similar issues mentioned. Boooo 😔

    Like

    1. So very sorry! I really had high hopes for this book but my mind could not read it as anything other than a mixture of the two other books. 😦

      Like

  2. I hate that you didn’t like it! I loved it BUT I’ve also not read The Orphan Queen. It was definitely predictable and there were times that it reminded me of Red Queen/Throne of Glass but I felt it came into its own by the halfway point. Great review 😉

    Like

    1. Aww, thanks! So happy to hear that you enjoyed the book! I have a strong feeling if I hadn’t read The Orphan Queen, I would have enjoyed this particular story a lot more.

      Like

  3. I am so glad I did NOT pick this up because I would have definitely hated this as well, maybe. (Also LOVE your post title for this by the way hahaha). This just sounds extremely unoriginal, and I haven’t even read The Orphan Queen yet! Or Red Queen for that matter!

    Like

    1. I was actually very excited for this but OH MY GOODNESS, I was so bored! All I could do was compare nearly every scene to either The Orphan Queen or Red Queen. If you haven’t read either of those – don’t bother. I don’t think you would enjoy them too much and I strongly urge you to pass over this one too. It was not well done at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

