Top Ten Books I Bought or Read On A Whim

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing my…

 

Top Ten Books I Bought or Read On A Whim

(No particular order)

 

Saint AnythingThis was the first Sarah Dessen book I read and I had no idea what it was about. I read it because Dessen has a huge following. I did not enjoy this book but I am not sorry that I read it. I’m still not sure if I want to read any of her other stories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

 

I knew from the cover I wanted to read this book. Sad, but I admit I am a cover snob. If the cover looks good, there is a good chance I will read it. I picked this one up and so happy I did! I am hooked on this series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carry On

 

I read this one simply because I wanted to give Rainbow’s books another chance. I did not enjoy this as it felt like a rip off of Harry Potter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bone Gap

 

I read this because I liked the cover – no other reason. WHOA – this book took me for a wild ride and never let me go. SO good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All American Boys

 

 

I listened to this audio truly believing it would be something different. I was so pleasantly surprised as this book is freaking powerful and should be read by everyone.

 

 

 

 

 

The Stars Never Rise (The Stars Never Rise, #1)

 

 

I had one person tell me this book was good but HOLY CROW I was not prepared for the awesomeness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer

 

I picked this up based purely on the cover and I was hoping it would entertain me. Did it ever! It wasn’t prize winning writing but it was a fun read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Matched (Matched, #1)

 

Another book I picked up based on the cover and hope of a good dystopian. This was a horrific let down of a dystopian.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Legend (Legend, #1)

 

 

I had no notion of what this book was about before I picked it up. This was the best chance encounter of a book ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares (Dash & Lily, #1)

 

This was a fast and fun read. I ordered it on a whim and read it in one day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What books have you read or a bought on a whim?

 

sara-signature1

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Bought or Read On A Whim

  1. You’ve just listed so many books that I’ve bought and have yet to read! :p I’m really looking forward to reading Legend by Marie Lu — I’ve heard SO many good things about that series. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. You picked up some awesome books on a whim. I always feel like I am the only human being who really enjoyed Matched haha! I just really loved the dystopian aspect where they basically erased so much of history by getting rid of the art, music and literature… That’s a future I wouldn’t want to live in. I bought Bone Gap on a whim a while back and can’t wait to read it, I have been seeing some amazing reviews for it. I also really enjoyed Legend, that was one I borrowed from work randomly and was so glad I did. Great list 🙂 You can check out my post here.

    Like

  3. I’m a huge Sarah Dessen fan and would say that Saint Anything is NOT her best work. I also didn’t like it, and I’d say that if you haven’t read any other Dessen and want to, try some of her earlier works. There’s just something about them. 🙂

    Dash and Lily actually made it to my TTT this week too! I didn’t enjoy most of it, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

