Review: In The After (YES!)

In the After (In the After, #1)

 

This book right here blew me out of the water. It was so much better than I was expecting, and my expectations were low after the track record I’ve had with books lately. I picked this up thinking it would (hopefully) be like Horde or The 5th Wave. Granted, those books have their own niche and thankfully no two books are completely alike so this really surprised me.

Amy was watching TV at home alone when the aliens invaded and took over the planet. Amy managed to escape their capture and learned to live on her own, protecting herself at all costs. Along the way, Amy saves a small toddler she named “Baby”. Baby because Amy’s reason for getting up and carrying on every day. She just had to protect this toddler. After years of hiding and surviving, Amy and Baby are rescued and taken to a colony of survivors called “New Hope”. This place seemed like a wonderful dream – running water, constant food and clothes, no fear of aliens. While at New Hope Amy quickly realized that this place is not the haven it first appeared to be. Dark secrets emerge and everything Amy fought so hard to protect could be taken away from her.

This book released in 2013 but it still reads very current, which is amazing. It did not remind me of any one book in particular but rather fantastic parts of several great books. The way this story was written and delivered was very, very well done. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.

This book is broken down into three parts, which gave the reader the ability to easily follow the timeline. The first part of the book blew me away. The tension was nonstop and I had to keep going with the story. The way Amy learned to defend herself was brilliant. The second part was just okay. The reader could tell this is where the story lulled a bit. It felt slow and like fluff. The third part picked up again and the action was back. This is also where the secrets started to reveal themselves and the reader was left thinking, “Are you kidding me?!” The survival part of this story (part one) was simply the best part of this book.

I really, really liked Amy’s character. She started off weak but turned out to be a badass protagonist! I enjoyed her wit and her smarts. She was actually a very smart MC and I applaud Ms. Lunetta for writing her that way. Amy’s character knew what she had to do to survive and realized she was not above eating cooked squirrel to survive. I did not like Amy’s mom, but once you have read her character you will agree. I did not like her from the moment she came into the picture. The bond Amy had with Baby was incredibly endearing and felt very, very real.

I’m not sure I can write a more positive review for this book. I enjoyed it so, so much. Yes, I am three years late to this game but reading is still reading, right? I am greedy to get my hands on the second book to see if the suspense and brilliant writing keeps going.

 

sara-signature1

One thought on “Review: In The After (YES!)

Leave a Reply

