Review: The Girl at Midnight

 

Echo is a runaway pickpocket with a serious attitude who is raised by the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins who live beneath the streets of New York City. Though she is mostly seen as an outsider by the Avicen community, she does have a few Avicen in her corner including The Ala, Ivy, and Rowan. Echo quickly finds herself in the middle of a centuries-old war between the Avicen and the Drakharin, the ancient race of Dragon like people, when she steals a music box that happens to contain the first clue to finding the mythical Firebird. The Firebird is believed to possess the power to end that war. It becomes Echo’s mission to find the Firebird and protect her Avicen family but, she hits a few bumps along the road including a couple of unexpected cohorts.

I have read several reviews for this book that compare it to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. While it does have many undeniable similarities, I cannot stress enough that this book stands on it’s own!

I love this story and I love Echo! She is one of the best main charachters I’ve read about in a while and Melissa Grey did an incredible job of roping me into her vividly beautiful world. She truly captivated me! I love how Grey intertwines mythology and magic within her novel while creating fascinating races, the Avicen and the Drakharin. The characters are likable and the world building is fantastic and enchanting.

Echo is sassy, resourceful, and, fierce in every way that counts. She is fiercly loyal to her Avicen family, a fierce foe, she has a fiercely sassy attitude/wit and is fiercly stubborn! All things I aspire to in my life! She is strong and independant but not to a fault. She lets the right people in at the right time and I admire that about her. She also doesn’t hesitate to do the right thing, it is instinctual for her.

I absolutely adore Ivy, Dorian and Jasper as secondary characters. Friendship bonds are strong within the novel which I enjoy reading about. Echo, Caius, Ivy, Dorian and Jasper make an excellent team and use their differences rather then letting those differences get in their way. Beware though, there is a bit of a love triangle but, it did seem to take a bit of a back seat. Echo has a moment or two of hesitation due to her feelings but, we are not subjected to pages upon pages of deliberation and whining.

So, I may be a bit of a nerd but I was so excited when I read about the bacon waffles! It reminds me of the bacon pancake song that Jake sings from Adventure Time.

I am a big fan of urban fantasy and The Girl at Midnight does not disappoint. This is the first book in The Girl at Midnight series which is so exciting because I cannot wait to pick up the second book! I felt the action never stopped or slowed down. I was so immersed in this story that I didn’t realize how quickly it was over until I was done. That may sound crazy but that is how wrapped up I was in this world. I even love the cover art as it is such a wonderful depiction of the Avicen and Drakharin.  I would love to see this novel in a film adaptation, depending on the casting and the director, of course! The writing is very animated and I feel like it would transfer well on screen. We both truly hope everyone has had a chance to read this story and adore it as much as we do.

 

Image result for Christina signaturesara-signature1

 

One thought on “Review: The Girl at Midnight

Leave a Reply

