Review: The Rose Society (Young Elites #2)

The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)

 

Finally I picked up book 2 in the Young Elites series. I had been putting this off for a while only because I adore Marie Lu so much that I don’t want to be disappointed by her stories. Granted, I have yet to be disappointed as I loved this book.

Our protagonist, Adeline Amouteru, is back in what is not your typical book 2 of a series. Adeline has been broken, hurt, and shattered by family, friends, and loved ones alike. She has been used and taken for granted, but no more. Feared and known as the White Wolf, Adeline is back to raise her own army of Elites to take down the queen and the army, Inquisition Axis, that hurt her so painfully before. Do not be fooled – Adeline is not the typcial heroine. She thrives and feeds off of the fear of others, the fear that she puts in to people. Throughout this story, Adeline struggles to fight the good that is within her so she can exact her revenge on the Dagger Society. But is there enough good left in her to win out over the darkness that she is dependant upon?

This book freaking blew me away! This book did not suffer any of the typcial “second book syndrome” features that many fall victim too. Instead, this book was powerful and outstanding. Adeline’s character is brilliant. She is such a powerhouse! She is out for revenge and will settle for nothing less. Adeline has grown and developed so much from the first book that I could not get enough of her. She has been taken down to an all new level of darkness and I loved every single minute of it.

As for the rest of the characters, I have a love/hate relationship with them. That is the best way I can describe them all – love and hate at the same time. Especially Teren, who is portrayed to be the “villian” in this book/series. I have a feeling he will have to die but due to the complexity of the story and his character, this is going to make me very sad.

There were so many twists and turns that I was on the end of my seat the entire book. This book did everything that I had always hoped a second book would do – action, adventure, betrayal, plot twists, new exciting characters, lots of character development, and an ending that hooked me in for book 3. Ms. Lu, congratulations on doing what most authors always hope of achieving – a middle book that doesn’t suck.

 

 

 

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

