ARC Review: And The Trees Crept In

And the Trees Crept In

 

I was so excited to get my hands on this book after reading Kurtagich’s first book The Dead House. That book was so freaky and weird that I knew her books would become instant buys for me. This book is no exception.

From Goodreads:

“A stunning, terrifying novel about a house the color of blood and the two sisters who are trapped there, by The Dead House author Dawn Kurtagich

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the “blood manor” is cursed. The creaking of the house and the stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too–the questions that Silla can’t ignore: Who is the beautiful boy that’s appeared from the woods? Who is the man that her little sister sees, but no one else? And why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer?

Filled with just as many twists and turns as The Dead House, and with achingly beautiful, chilling language that delivers haunting scenes, AND THE TREES CREPT IN is the perfect follow-up novel for master horror writer Dawn Kurtagich.”

This. Book. Is. Brilliant. The more I think about it, the more I adore it. Yes, it is an utterly terrifying, horrific, and deeply addicting tale of personal demons and what they can do to you if you do not deal with them. There are so many plot twists and gruesome scenes that you will never want to read late at night again.

The main thing I really loved about this story was Silla’s fantastic decent into maddness Silla. Silla is barely a teenager when she and her sister, Nori, arrive at La Baume to live with their (crazy) Aunt Cathy. Far too young to realize what is in store for them once they exit the trees and enter the house. I won’t give anything away but things get serious and dangerous real fast. Silla and Nori’s lives are in danger and while Silla does everything she can to keep them safe, she quickly becomes crazy. Or does she? Things move and she doesn’t remember moving them. She smells strange things (rotting meat?!) but cannot find the source of the smell. I could not put this book down! I Felt as if I was going crazy myself. I kept thinking, “Did I miss reading something that would tell me what is really going on?” Kurtagich captured the surroundings and emotions of the character’s fears perfectly. I felt as if I needed to go check the trees in my back yard to make sure they weren’t inching closer to my house.

I loved these characters. I loved all of them. They were so well developed and well rounded that I immediately connected with them. I wanted to know more about their back story. I wanted to help them with their quest. I wanted to rescue them from the house. I wanted to help Silla and Nori escape the dangers and horror that were within the walls of La Baume. That is how engrossed I was with these characters and the story. The bond between Silla and Nori was beautiful and endearing. There is also a love interest which is so sweet. It will melt your heart it is so sweet.

Just by the cover of this book, you can tell it is going to be the type of story that sends chills up your spine. I’m here to tell you that this book is terrifying. I don’t get scared easily but this one made me jumpy. I was cringing at some of the images put into my head because I could just picture them clear as day. That is how good the writing is. That is just how much I was pulled into this book. I always made sure lights were on throughout my entire house and that I was never in a room by myself.

I’m not sure I can say enough good things about this story. It is full of horror, emotion, suspense, heart break, terror, and understanding. It is a powerful story that I want everyone to read. Yes, there are some truly gruesome scenes, but the ending makes the journey worth it. There is such a great message at the end that everyone should read. It made me rethink some things in my life and I think so many others could benefit from it. Please, add to your TBR, request from your library, borrow from a friend (if you have one willing to lend out books), do what you need to get your hands on this book.

 

sara-signature1

One thought on “ARC Review: And The Trees Crept In

Leave a Reply

