Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing…

 

Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

 

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Sabriel (Abhorsen,  #1)

 

 

ANYTHING BY SARAH J. MAAS

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)

 

 

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #1)

 

 

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)

 

 

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1)

 

 

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1)

 

 

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen, #1)

 

 

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scotty Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)

 

Rites of Passage by Joy Hensley

Rites of Passage

 

The Diviners by Libba Bray

The Diviners (The Diviners, #1)

 

 

This is always an ongoing topic for me. I have a lot of books that intimidate me and as a result, I don’t read. I have a weekend meme that I created called “Books Left Unread”. It is a weekly post where I showcase a book that I own but have not read. Most intimidate me, most are ones I know I want to read but just haven’t yet.What books intimidate you? Let me know!

 

sara-signature1

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

  1. It takes a little time to get into the Lies of Locke Lamora but it is such a great series, I hope you’ll read it someday 😀
    Queen of the tearling is so fun and dark and ahhhh<3
    Books that intimidate me are quite rare but I can think of a few! Like the Wheel of time series! I love long series when I'm reading them but it always takes me a while before I start them!

    Like

  2. The Star-Touched Queen intimidated me too but it definitely wasn’t as great as expected – good, but not amazing. Hope you get to it one day. 🙂

    My most intimidating book would be The Book Thief – EVERYONE seems to love it, and I’m sooo hesitant to pick it up and read it!

    Like

  3. The Queen of the Tearling is a little off putting at the start, but then it gets good. I haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury because I’m intimidated by all the hype around it. I thought ACTOR was alright, but I prefer Throne of Glass. I hope that you do get around to some of these books one day 🙂

    Like

  4. Books that intimidate me are usually really long classics, like War and Peace and Les Miserables. They end up being completely worth it, but it’s a lot to commit yourself to 1,000+ pages of something that people spend their academic careers studying.

    Like

    1. The hype around her books scares me. I’m afraid I’m going to be that reader that either doesn’t understand what is going on or just doesn’t like the story. 😦

      Like

  5. I’ve never read The Lies of Locke Lamora either but I’m really keen to so hopefully it’ll happen soon. I tried Sabriel but just couldn’t get into it.

    Like

  6. You should try Sabriel on audio, if you like audio books. Tim Curry narrates and it’s AMAZING.

    I hear that on the S. Maas. If I hadn’t started reading her when ToG debuted, I’d probably never pick up one of her books now. THEY HYPE. THE SHEER AMOUNT OF STORY. It’s intense.

    The Queen of the Tearling is SO GOOD. I hope you give it a chance someday. Also The Lies of Locke Lamora OMG

    Like

  7. Grave Mercy and The Star-Touched Queen are great, so I hope you can hurdle the hype and read them soon. And I totally get the Sarah J. Maas thing – I started the series a few months before Heir of Fire released and her books were a big deal even then.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hahah all these books intimidate me as well! Especially all the books by Sarah J. Maas of course! I feel like I have been spoiled for them so many times, that I don’t even know whether or not I HAVE been spoiled. I just keep pretending nevertheless.

    BUT SABRIEL IS REALLY GOOD THOUGH 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

