Review: Across the Universe (Across the Universe #1)

Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)

 

I finally marked this off of my TBR when I came available through a friend’s library app (Thanks Mariah!). I was nervous to read this because being set in space means sci-fi and some fantasy, two things that are not my strong genres. I don’t have a great track record of being able to follow along. I was able to with this story (HOORAY!) and I’m here to say this: What an effed up society. The people on this ship are batsh!t crazy.

This is the story of Amy and Elder. Amy is frozen for the 300 year voyage with her parents aboard the ship, Godspeed. When they awaken, they will be on a new planet. Amy and the rest of the frozen people are necessary to help set up and stabalize the new planet in whatever way necessary. What Amy did not anticipate is that she would be thawed out and woken up 50 years sooner than scheduled. She struggled to come to terms with the new society and rules aboard the Godspeed. While trying to adjust, she befriends nineteen year old Elder, the future leader of the ship. They both quickly discover that Amy’s thawing was not a computer malfunction but sabatoge. Who would want to kill the frozen crew that is supposed to be the future of the new planet? Amy and Elder must unlock the secrets of Godspeed to figure this out or Amy’s parents could die next.

This was a hell of a wild ride. The people aboard this ship are so brainwashed and out of their mind crazy that I almost couldn’t believe what I was reading. This society is lead to believe that everything Eldest, the current leader of the ship, says is truth and law. If Eldest tells you something, you are not ever to question it. They are also deprived of all emotions due to medicine put into the drinking water. The entire society does not question or argue anything thanks to these drugs. How crazy is that?!

My favorite character of this story was Elder. He already had a lot of pressure on him to become the next Eldest. Add to that his indescribable need to protect Amy from everything and everyone on the ship. I’m happy to say that it was not instalove (HOORAY!) instead, it was insta-curious. Since everyone on Godspeed is genetically engineered to look exactly the same, Amy having red hair and green eyes makes her stand out like a sore thumb. That and Amy came from Sol Earth made him want to get to know her. I felt he was a geniune character and was true to his word. Amy, on the other hande, annoyed me to no end. She was really close to be too much. I can understand her freakout of being woken up 50 years ahead of schedule but her mad obsession with trying to be exactly like she was before being frozen was over the top. I get it that she doesn’t know how to be any other way, but her constant freak outs and irrational thoughts were making me want to slap a medpatch on her myself just so she would shut up. I felt bad that she had to figure everything out without her parents, but calm down sister. You freaking out certainly isn’t going to make anything better.

While reading this book, all I could think about was the movie Wall-E. I kept getting flashes of the people aboard that ship and compare it to the people aboard Godspeed.

I know the people aboard Godspeed were not that level of lazy, but it felt like they were not too far off. The one thing that made me super duper uncomfortable within this story was the mating season. You. Read. That. Correctly. One ‘season’ every 10 years or so, drugs were removed from the drinking water that caused everyone to start mating. Yep! It did not matter where they were, these people were getting busy. They didn’t care who or where they mated, it was on like donkey kong. I was pretty mortified by this. Apparently mating had to be monitored and controled so the population didn’t get out of control. I get that, but Revis could have toned it down just a wee bit so I didn’t feel I was reading an eroitca book. Oh, there is also a scene were Amy almost gets raped and nobody does anything to help her. What in the ever loving eff is that all about? Revis, seriously, calm it down. That was too much.

Overall, I really liked this book. I liked it more than I thought I would. It took me a bit to get into the story but once it leveled out, I was hooked. I had to know more about Godspeed, Elder, Amy, and what exactly was going on with the ship. I’m kicking myself for not reading this sooner but I’m glad I marked it off of my TBR. If you have not read this one, please give it a try. It really is good.

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “Review: Across the Universe (Across the Universe #1)

  1. I reallllly disagree with this. Not in a bad way, I can see how you would say all those things, but I just did NOT like that book. Haha, it’s weird how our opinions can be so different. I’m not sure what it was, I didn’t feel like writing a review about it, but I disliked the characters and the setting and it all was just blegh for me.

    I’m completely on the same page with you about the rape scene, though. Tone it the f**k down.

    Like

Leave a Reply

