Review: Kids of Appetite

Kids of Appetite

 

After reading Mosquitoland earlier this year and loving it, I could not wait to get my hands on David Arnold’s newest novel. I’m happy to say that Arnold hit it out of the park with this one.

Victor Benucci, and his friend Madeline Falco, start the story by sitting in a police station and they have a story to tell. They have a wild, crazy, unbelievable story to lay out . This story involves the quest to scatter the ashes of Victor’s father and a murder.

 

That is all I am going to say in way of a blurb because I feel anything else will either not come across the right way, or it will give away too much. Plus, the way that blurb ends leaves you wondering what is going on, right? What I can tell you is that this book will sink its teeth into you and never let you go. From the very start of the book, Arnold’s words wrap around you and you don’t want them to let you go. There are so many levels to this story that it is hard for me to properly express how much I enjoyed the story. I loved it all – from the deep seeded morale of friendship, honesty, family, and being true to yourself, to learning to deal with grief. I’m telling you – this story has it all.

The characters in this book are bloody brilliant. Victor is the MC with a heck of a story. He sets out on a very personal mission to scatter his father’s ashes according to a cryptic clue found within his urn. Crazy, right? That’s just part of his story. He was also born with a rare disease that limits his facial movements. This is brought up in the book a lot because it is a big part of who Victor is. Well, a big part of what the has to deal with on a daily basis. He seems to handle it very well each time someone makes a horrible comment. The mismatched group of kids he befriends call themselves Kids of Appetite (the book explains why) and they all add so much to both Vic’s life and this story. While this is mainly the story of Victor, every other character has a story and those backstories were so colorful that it didn’t feel like an infodump.

The way this story was laid out and told was very well done. The reader is given the chance to learn about the characters in the same way Victor did without giving anything away until the very end of the story when the big reveal happens. It is just the right mix of present mixed with the past. I could not be happier with how the book ended and everything was resolved.

David Arnold now has a life long fan – me. I have been blown away by both of his books and pretty sure his grocery list is a brilliant read. I could not get through this book fast enough because I simply had to know what happened. I urge everyone to pick this up when it comes out and read it immediately. There are so many great morales sprinkled throughout the book that you never think he is preaching to you. Please, add to your TBR and read as soon as you can.

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “Review: Kids of Appetite

  1. To be honest, I had no intention of reading this book before. I didn’t know what it was about and I didn’t read the blurb for some reason. But your review has convinced me. It sounds like such a unique read and I know I’m gonna have to check it out! Great review 🙂

    Like

  2. I didn’t know about his first book and the cover for this one didn’t really intrigued me, but as Adri said, your review totally made me want to take a look at it :O Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

