eARC Review: Transcendent

 

Transcendent

 

I received a copy of this eARc through Penquin’s First to Read program. I’m very thankful for the opportunity to read and review. This will be a short review as I did not enjoy this story as much as I wanted to.

This is the story of Iris, a teenager who discovers that she may be the one divinely chosen to save the world. All of this comes to light after major events start to happen all around Iris, such as major land marks being blown up by terrorists. When she is approached on the streets of Brooklyn and told she is the one who can save the world, everything changes. The press catches wind of this and starts to air stories of Iris and her “special” status across the planet. Soon, strangers are pinning their hopes on this seventeen year old girl, including Zane, another teenager who has lost his way and lost his hope. Can Iris be the savior the world needs her to be?

When I started this book I thought it would be more adventureous and suspensful but it wasn’t. This felt more like a story about relationships and self-discovery. You could certainly pick up the YA aspects of this story – such as Iris deailng with very teenage things – but it felt like the overall topic of religion/God/Jesus/faith was too heavy, too serious. The topic of religion usually makes people squirm. It is a very personal thing. There were times it felt like the author was trying to shove religion down my throat and make me believe in a higher power. I don’t know about you but I don’t like that. I don’t like a preachy book and this book felt that way. I believe this story will hit a home run with some readers but certainly not all YA readers.

The characters themselves were a bit on the bland side. I did not connect with any of them, nor did I find myself cheering them on. They felt like your average characters. I know that is incredibly vague but that is how they came across to me – nothing truly memorable and nothing that made them stand out in my mind.

Overall, this book was just ho-hum. It wasn’t anything that blew my hair back and it certainly did not make me want to scream this author’s name from the roof tops. Instead, it made me uncomfortable with all of the religious talk (only because I believe that is a personal choice and nobody should try to sway me to one side or the other). I finished this book pretty quickly only because I started skimming the pages. Just nothing stood out to me. I cannot recommend this to anyone as I did not enjoy it enough to push it on others.

 

sara-signature1

 

Leave a Reply

