DNF Review: Three Dark Crowns

Three Dark Crowns

 

Oh how I hate writing DNF reviews. I enjoy giving my opinion on books, how they made me feel, etc. but when I am forced to stop a book because of reasons, I don’t enjoy that. This book simply had too much going on and it was beyond confusing.

Uh… I think this was a story about three sisters, triplets, who all fight to kill each other until one is left and they can be crowned queen. That’s what I got out of it anyways. Every generation the current queen births triplet girls, without fail. Then these three sisters are taught to develop their natural talents (magic?) and the dark arts of killing discreetly. Everyone knows it is going to happen but nobody cares. And that’s as far as I got.

The portion of the story I made it through was a huge info dump of history. I was hit with a tidal wave of information that I didn’t know how to process because I didn’t know how it related to the overall story. There is no real backstory to prepare the reader for what is going on, other than what I mentioned above. The chapters were back and forth with names of people/places/events and I never knew if they were current or in the past. The alternating POVs all sounded like the same person talking, I couldn’t tell which sister was talking. I felt the three sisters of this story were obnoxious. I didn’t care what happened to them. I didn’t care who died and in what way. They were that annoying to me. I felt there was no world building, no characterization, nothing to help me understand what is going on. This story felt incredibly flat. The plot itself was soooo slllloooowwww. I found myself rolling my eyes too many times so that’s when I knew I was done. I finally had to give up and move to another story.

I know others raved about this story and loved it until the last page, but it just was not for me. This feels like the perfect example of how not every story is for every reader. I have started to enjoy high fantasy stories more and more, but this was not for me.

 

sara-signature1

 

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Three Dark Crowns

  1. Great review, Sara! I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy this book. I haven’t read it yet but I had high hopes for it. We actually chose this book for next month’s BOTM for Hype of Like Fridays. It should be really interesting to see what everyone thinks of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

