DNF Review: The Thousandth Floor

The Thousandth Floor

 

What hooked me into wanting to read this book was the blurb:

New York City as you’ve never seen it before.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.”

Sounds great, right?! Dystopian-ish and futuristic type feel! WRONG. SO VERY WRONG.

This is the story of spoiled rich kids and their rich kid problems. The higher you live in this building, the more important you are, or think you are. The teens in this building are the true definition of “spoiled rich kids” who think they can get away with anything. Parenting and rules do not apply to these kids. There is a lot of high techy gadgets that make life easier but this story is so heavy laden with them that they start to border on stupid. Not sure I would be lazy enough to ever need a machine to show me the clothes in my closet when I could just open the door myself. But hey, I’m not rich.

The first quarter of this book is a giant info dump. Pages and pages and chapters and chapters of pointless information. You would expect something along that lines because you need to be brought into the world, but taking 25% of the book to give backstories felt like too much. You are introduced to the five characters that basically make up the entire story. Each has their own POV but they all sound like they have the same voice. I was so lost in the beginning because I had no clue what was going on. You really are thrust straight into the story. As you start to get familiar with the characters, one story stands out the most: Avery and Atlas. Why am I pointing this out? Because they are step-siblings and they are attracted to each other. Avery has an unhealthy obsession and attraction to her step-brother, Atlas and he encourages it.

GROSS.

I do not have any desire to read about incest. I believe it was supposed to read as something sexy and adorable but that just did not sit right with me. I couldn’t get my brain to really accept anything else from this story after reading this line:

On the other end of the call was Atlas, her brother – and the reason she never wanted to kiss anyone else.

WHAT.

If you can manage to get past that, the rest of the story is boring. Avery ends up hiring a hacker to find out where Atlas was over the summer (stalker!); the hacker ends up really liking Avery; another girl was sent away to a rehab facility but doesn’t want anyone to know about it; the rich boy ends up liking the non-rich girl that cleans his apartment. Snoozefest. I never connected with any character or any story.

There is one tiny upside to this story: the idea that entire cities can be housed in one building. These people never leave their building. Everything they could ever need is simply located on another floor. That is kind of nifty. Yet the world building does not and will not  begin to save this book. I have read that people compare this to Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, however, I know nothing about either of those worlds so I cannot begin to compare. What I can tell you is that this is a very long boring book about the superficial lives of spoiled rich kids. And there is that unhealthy attraction between two step-siblings. Ick. I did not like this at all and I would not recommend to anyone.

 

sara-signature1

3 thoughts on “DNF Review: The Thousandth Floor

  1. You echoed my thoughts exactly about this hyped book. I only read the first five or six chapters and just couldn’t read any farther and waste my time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

