Review: The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles #3)

The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles, #3)

I could not wait to get my grubby hands on this book. I tore through the first two books like they were nothing. Those books were some of the best writing, the best story I had read in a while. Once I got this book, but I became hesitant to start because it is nearly 700 pages. Just let that sink in… we are talking books nearing the size of Cassandra Clare’s TMI books. That, folks, is dedication and time consuming.

In the final installment of The Remnant Chronicles, Lia is the only one who can save Morrighan. There is an evil determined to destroy that land and Lia cannot let that happen. Finally stepping into her role as First Daughter, Lia has to be not only a soldier, but a leader. This is a title and responsibility she has run away from her whole life. Along the way, she questions her feelings for Rafe and for Kaden. Can she trust her feelings? Is she strong enough to do what is necessary?

To get through this story, I chose to listen to the audiobook. Ladies and gents, the audio is over 18 hours if you listen at 1x playback. Eighteen. HOURS. That may or may not be faster than reading the physical copy, but that is still a lot of time. I listen at a high playback speed (2x) so I gave over 9 hours to this and I don’t believe it was worth it. It was bleak and monotonous. I felt as if nothing happened over a very, very long period of time. The tone was passive and not engaging. There were no character interactions and even fewer reactions. I wanted/needed something to happen. I wanted something to remind me why I fell in love with the first two books. It just didn’t happen, folks. Instead, it was predictable and I was not vested in the outcome anymore. I didn’t care what happened, I just wanted the story to be over. It all fell apart after the first third of the book. BORING. DULL. UNEVENTFUL. People were talking to talk but nothing substantial was being said. yawn

Once again, this story was told from multiple POVs, not all of which were necessary. Why did Pauline need a voice? Why? I liked her as a secondary character but she didn’t deserve to be center stage. Rafe and Kaden were their usual drone selves, whining about how they should be in charge, whatever whatever whatever. It did appear that Lia developed a bit more during this book, but it felt like she did it all at once and not gradually. Can’t say I believe that at all. Nobody grows up overnight, sorry but that isn’t how it is really done.

The action scenes didn’t happen until the last 5% or so. When they did – BAM. They were over before they started because they lasted a few pages at most. Uh… why not find a way to keep that action and suspense throughout the entire book? Just a thought. Forcing it into the very last pages of the story make a reader mad. It makes the story feel rushed, as if you are putting words on a page to make a deadline. There was so little resolution when the story was over and done with. What happened with Jaxon? What of his kingdom? WHO KNOWS because it isn’t talked about.

Overall, I was incredibly let down by this book. I wanted the feel from the first two books to continue in this story but it did not. It was 685 pages of nothing then everything crammed into the last two pages and…. DONE. If you enjoy very long winded stories where little to nothing happens other than pointless interaction, then this is the story for you. If you can handle not having a resolution to the overall story, you are in luck. As for me, I am disappointed with this one. Anticlimactic middle/ending to what could have been a a hell of a story.

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

