Review: The Taking (The Taking #1)

The Taking (The Taking, #1)

 

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this story, but alien abductions was not it. But hold on, I’m not saying this story was awful and needed to be removed from distribution, I’m saying I just wasn’t expecting aliens. I did enjoy how the story was delivered. It was as if I was reading an episode of the X-Files.

Sixteen year old Kyra Agnew has a huge fight with her father after a championship softball game and storms away. When she wakes up the next morning behind the local gas station, she doesn’t know how she got there. And what she really doesn’t realize is that it technically isn’t “tomorrow”, 5 years have passed and she hasn’t aged a single day. Kyra finds out the hard way that everything in her life has changed. Her parents are divorced, her mom is remarried and has a small son, her dad has become an alien conspiracy theorist, and her boyfriend, Austin, has moved on and started seeing her best friend. Kyra tries to make sense of everything but it just too much. She quickly discovered that her former boyfriend’s little brother, Tyler, isn’t as annoying as she remembered and she finds herself become attracted to him. Kyra and Tyler start to retrace her footsteps from the night she disappeared and they discover that some crazy things going on. They start to really wonder if Kyra’s father and his abduction theories are as crazy as they seem. Will they be able to solve the mystery of what happened to her 5 years ago?

Let me start this on a high note: I did enjoy the delivery of this story. I enjoyed the not knowing what happened to Kyra in the beginning. The girl was still sixteen, even though she technically should be twenty-one. She was still living life as a teenager. That’s fine and it worked to help the reader feel as confused as Kyra. The poor girl just wanted to know what happened to her and how she lost those years. Plus, she wanted to know how she came into super powers. I know what you’re thinking – AWESOME! Super powers! Well… slow down now. They could be cool if it was something more than being able to throw a softball fast enough to splinter wood. I did not entirely like how Kyra acted when she came back. She was horrid to her mom’s new family but I could see how she would feel. She wanted everything to be exactly how it was before she went missing. Sweetheart, that’s not how the world works. Everyone else does not put their life on pause until you get back. Your mom did what she felt she needed to do, cut her some slack.

What I did not like was the sudden attraction Kyra had to her former boyfriend’s younger brother. Just let that sink in: her. former. boyfriend’s. younger. brother. She started developing feelings for him within days of being back. When she disappeared, Tyler was twelve and when she comes back he is seventeen. He even confessed that he has always had a crush on her and that caused her to sway on her feet. Dude, you were twelve. Sorry, but that is still creepy and wrong. Kyra should have know better than to want something more with Tyler. She should have kept it as friends. I do not feel it added anything to the story, it took away from it. I didn’t feel swoony or any ship feelings for them. That was such a creep factor for me.

As the book continued, things took a turn for the weird. Kyra stumbles upon a group of teens that were also Taken and they all came back with new powers. Plus, their blood is deadly poison? To me, that sounded like an extreme X-Files episode.

Image result for x-files pictures

I know I said overall I enjoyed the story and I did. I pointed out the story lines and items that bothered me but it held my attention until the very end. Plus, I really want to know what happens in the next book. If the forced romance was removed, I think this would be a pretty interesting sci-fi story. The romance is not needed and is just out of place. If you can overlook that, it is not bad. I know some people cannot and I cannot blame them for that. I, myself, will continue to see if the series gets any better.

 

sara-signature1

 

 

One thought on “Review: The Taking (The Taking #1)

  1. Ohh great review I’ve been really wanting to read this book but of course I don’t have the time to check it out from the library, but after hearing you review it really looks and sounds absolutely intriguing and right up my alley. That I really want to check it out soon. Thank you for the awesome post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

