Review: Wandering Star (Zodiac #2)

Wandering Star (Zodiac, #2)

 

I was hesitant to read this book after the lukewarm feeling I had after finishing the first book. Sadly, this book did not disappoint me because my expectations were already low. I went in thinking this would be a struggle and I was correct. This was just not good for me.

Rho has been stripped of her title and is ready to live a quiet life. That does not last long because Ochus, the bad guy from book 1, appears to Rho and gives her a cryptic warning. That lights a fire under Rho to do everything she can to help save the planets.

This plot of this story felt unorganized and underdeveloped. How am I supposed to believe that the bad guy from the first book suddenly wants to help the protagonist solve dark mysteries of the universe in order to save everyone. That makes zero sense to me. Everything that happened and new characters that were introduced just felt too convenient. Rho just happens to start on this quest to figure out the cryptic message yet none of the other planets are concerned? Rho just happens to stumble upon the group, the Marad, and finds out they are the ones that to release the evil into the universe. It is not believable at all.

The other thing that is not believable in this story is the romance. Gag. Vomit. Puke. There is a forced love triangle that made me want to hurl the book across the room and walk away from it forever. It is tragic in the sense that it is not necessary in this story. Rho spends a good portion of this story trying to convince the readers and herself that she does in fact love these two boys. But that is all she does – talk. She never acts on anything. She is incredibly immature in her actions with these boys. She even runs straight from one boy to the other after having a fight. GROW UP. Pick one and be done! Stop forcing this when it shouldn’t be an issue.

I was not a fan of Rho in this story. It felt like her character lost everything she developed in book 1. She made stupid, terrible decisions that were completely selfish and unwarranted. She was completely immature and it was maddening. She wanted the different Houses to get along and trust each other, but she never actually trusted the people in the various Houses. That doesn’t make any sense! She also absolutely refuses to realize that she herself has more than just her House traits. She knew that people could have traits from various houses, but when it came to her – NOPE. She refused to see that in herself. Uh, what? Why be so narrow minded?!

This book sealed the deal on me not reading the third book in the series. The ending had an interesting hook, but it isn’t enough for me to continue. The characters are more immature and ignorant, the romance is over the top stupid, and I just cannot put myself through more of this. This was a two star read for me and I feel like it doesn’t even deserve that much.

 

sara-signature1

 

One thought on “Review: Wandering Star (Zodiac #2)

  1. Thank you for your honest review! I had been thinking about this series, but now I’ll move one. The covers are very pretty anyway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

