Review: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1)

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

 

Juliette has not touched another living soul in 264 days. The last time she touched someone, The Reestablishment locked her up for a murder she didn’t know she could commit. Apparently her touch is fatal but, nobody knows why. Meanwhile, the world outside her prison is crumbling to pieces. Diseases and food shortages are destroying the population, birds don’t fly anymore and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior…

WOW, right? Not only did the cover draw me in but, the summary had me searching for this book. I just knew it was going to be amazing.

In my humble opinion, this book was too slow to start and took forever to give you even the smallest tid-bit of background information. And then there were the cross-outs and repeated statements. Please do not mistake me for being callous; Juliette has clearly had a traumatic upbringing and I would be more upset if she came out of that upbringing without some serious issues but, it made it very hard to read and follow. It was distracting. “visual editing, what do you mean by that?” you ask.. well, the cover shows you exactly what I mean. Throughout the entire book the negative thoughts are crossed out and replaced by a positive spin on the situation. Now, I can COMPLETELY appreciate that behavior as it is one I use myself but, it is very distracting to read. As far as the repetition, she would repeat certain statements 3 times. Again, very distracting.

At this point, you may be wondering about the actual content. I just couldn’t love it as much as I wanted to. I was intrigued at first but lost interest after a while. Even the scenes that should have been exciting weren’t. I would have to attribute this lack of excitement to the boy factor.

First, you have Adam. Adam is the same age as Juliette, 17, but is somehow a trusted and tested soldier for the reestablishment. I will say that even despite that unbelievable status, I do love Adam and I can’t even pin-point why I love him so much.

Second, there is Warner. Warner really screwed things up for me and made every situation uncomfortable. He is that guy who literally does not know the meaning of “no”. He is 19 and is in charge of an entire sector because his daddy is the head of The Reestablishment. He is actively and openly trying to use Juliette’s abilities even though she doesn’t want to and yet, she is attracted to him. She has been used and abused and is still so willing to see only the good in people? I’m all for positive thinking but, some skepticism would be warranted about now.

Maybe it’s just me but, I do need a little believability mixed into my fantasy worlds. For instance, the fact that Juliette was described as being beautiful and stunning after months of imprisonment with minimal bathing, malnutrition, etc… I need her to look a mess for at least a few minutes. She can have beautiful eyes or something but, I’m picturing some dirty, greasy, scrawny girl who has mousy brown hair and pale as a ghost. Nope! Apparently she is simply thin. Give me a break. Nobody can sit in a cell for that long and come out looking like a beauty queen.

I wanted a little more out of this story than what was given. It was hard to care for the Juliette as she whined an awful lot and had massive insecurities that got in the way of her making any decision. And the visual strikethroughs?! Interesting delivery but it was more distracting than anything. Still, I liked this story enough to finish and want to move on to the second book.

 

csh-signature

Leave a Reply

