DNF Review: Carve The Mark

Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)

 

Oh, Veronica Roth, what have you done. Divergent was such an interesting story in a time when dystopians were becoming the hot thing on the streets. After the conclusion of the series, the world waited impatiently for your next novel. We all waited to see what your brain might come up with next to dazzle us. I’m sorry to say that I had such high hopes for this novel but found myself deeply disappointed in what was published and passed off for a book. I allowed myself to want something great but was given something sub-par.

I can’t tell you what this is about because I’m not sure myself. I DNFd at 25%.

I can tell you what caused me to DNF this book: Poorly covered/described topics of chronic illness and race; also, nothing was happening. I was dreadfully bored. This is a high fantasy book and I sometimes have a hard time with those as they can make me feel stupid or I’m just not getting what is going on. This book did that and more. There was a massive info dump at the very beginning, nothing unusual there. What did irk me was that nothing was explained well. The reader was thrust right into the story and was just supposed to know what was happening. Sorry, Roth, that’s not how it works. That’s not how any of this works.

It may not be a secret but there is also a lot of controversy surrounding this book. Several sensitive topics seem to be touched upon and not handled well. The one that stood out to me was the chronic pain the characters constantly talked about. It felt as if they could do nothing more than talk about how much they  hurt and what drugs/medicines they were taking to alleviate their pain. I do not believe this topic was handled well at all. It felt disrespectful to those that suffer with this illness daily. The issue of race was not handled well either. Those two topics alone made me stop the book. Yes, I was absolutely bored with this story as there was a strong political tie in but the other issues of chronic illness and race were the main reason I stopped. I cannot and will not support an author that treats those very important topics like they are an afterthought or something that shouldn’t be taken seriously.

I know some people enjoyed this book while others did not. I am on the latter side and will stay there. I am glad I borrowed this from my library and did not spend any money on it. I hope Roth will think longer and harder about what she chooses to write about in the future.

 

sara-signature1

 

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Carve The Mark

  1. I’m hearing a lot of negative reviews for this book — to be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of the Divergent series. It was fine as far as stories went, but nothing spectacular. I also don’t think I’d be able to finish a book that doesn’t cover serious topics like how they deserve to be covered. Sorry this wasn’t great for you. :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

