Romeo & What’s Her Name: Excerpt and Giveaway

unnamed-10

www.rockstarbooktours.com

 

unnamed-11

About the Book:

Title: ROMEO & WHAT’S HER NAME

Author: Shani Petroff

Pub. Date: February 7, 2017

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Pages: 224

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksAudibleGoodreads

 

 

Understudies never get to perform

. . . which is why being Juliet’s understudy in the school’s yearly “Evening with Shakespeare” is the perfect role for Emily. She can earn some much-needed extra credit while pursuing her main goal of spending time with Wes, aka Romeo, aka the hottest, nicest guy in school (in her completely unbiased opinion). And she meant to learn her lines, really, it’s just:

  1. a) Shakespeare is HARD,
  2. b) Amanda, aka the “real” Juliet, makes her run errands instead of lines, and
  3. c) there’s no point because Amanda would never miss the chance to be the star of the show.

Then, Amanda ends up in the hospital and Emily, as the (completely unprepared!) understudy, has to star opposite the guy of her dreams. Oops?

2950337_orig.png

 

Excerpt

Here is an excerpt from ROMEO & WHAT’S HER NAME where Emily finds out that being an understudy is more than just a title! One of her best friend’s shows up at her house to let her know that she will have to take on the role of Juliet that evening.

“Emily. Emily. Em!”

I jolted up. Huh? What was going on? Where was I? I looked around the room. I was still in bed, but Kayla was standing in the doorway.

“What are you doing here?” I asked, glancing at the clock. It was 10:43. Way too early to be up on a Saturday morning. Everybody, especially Kayla, knew I slept in ‘til at least noon on weekends.

“You didn’t answer your phone.”

“Because I was sleeping!” I grabbed my cell. Fifteen missed calls. Four from Kayla, and eleven from Jill.

“Oh my God. What happened? Is Jill okay?”

“She’s fine,” Kayla said.

“Then what’s going on?”

“It’s Amanda,” she said, scrunching up her nose.

“What about her?”

“Well, you know how we all thought she was just being a drama queen yesterday, complaining about that pain in her stomach?” Kayla waited for me to nod. “Turns out it was real. Her parents ended up taking her to the hospital. She had to have her appendix out.”

“Is she okay?”

“Yeah, but she needs to stay in the hospital.”

“That’s awful. But at least she’s alright.” I threw my head back down on the pillow. I felt bad for Amanda, but I wasn’t quite sure why Kayla felt the need to wake me up just to tell me.

“This couldn’t have waited until noon?” I asked, trying to sound as nice as I could muster. But I was so tired, and I just wanted to go back to bed. Yesterday had gone on forever—first school, then rehearsal, then a late shift at the grocery store. “Or you could have just called the landline. I have a home phone, you know. You could have left a message with my mom.”

Kayla moved closer, pulled out her iPhone, and held it up to me, a sly little smile on her face. “Okay, I’ll admit it, I kind of wanted to see your reaction for myself.”

“To what? I mean, I’m sorry Amanda’s in the hospital. But what does it have to do with me?”

“Think about it,” Kayla said.

Amanda and me? The only thing we had in common was the…

“No, no, no, no, no, no!” I jumped out of bed. “This can’t be happening. She can’t be in the hospital! Not tonight. This is not happening.”

But Kayla’s face told me it was.

Amanda Andrews was stuck in the hospital. That meant she couldn’t perform her Shakespeare scene tonight. So her understudy was going to have to go on in her place. The understudy who volunteered only to get closer to Wes, aka Romeo Capulet… or Montague… or whichever last name was his, and to get some extra credit. The understudy who didn’t learn any of her lines because (a) it was really hard, (b) she was too busy doing her other schoolwork, her part-time job, and all of Amanda’s chores and (c) what was the point? UNDERSTUDIES NEVER GET TO PERFORM.

I was so dead.

2950337_orig.png

 

About Shani:

unnamed-12Shani Petroff is a writer living in New York City. She’s the author of the “Bedeviled” series, which includes Daddy’s Little Angel, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly Dress, Careful What You Wish For, and Love Struck, and is the co-author of Ash. She also writes for television news programs and several other venues. When she’s not locked in her apartment typing away, she spends a whole lot of time on books, boys, TV, daydreaming, and shopping online.
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

Giveaway Details:

 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of ROMEO & WHAT’S HER NAME, US Only.

 

 

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Rafflecopter Link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjUzOA==/?

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

1/30/2017- BookHounds YA– Interview

1/31/2017- YA and Wine– Review

2/1/2017- Bookwyrming Thoughts– Guest Post

2/2/2017- Literary Dust– Review

2/3/2017- Owl Always Be Reading– Review

 

Week Two:

2/6/2017- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Interview

2/7/2017- Brittany’s Book Rambles– Guest Post

2/8/2017- Eli to the nth– Review

2/9/2017- A Gingerly Review– Excerpt

2/10/2017- Cutting Muse Blog Review– Review

 

 

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

