Review: Wires and Nerve (Wires and Nerve #1)

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1)

 

Let’s be honest, who hasn’t been excited for the new graphic novel from Marissa Meyer?! I was over the moon when I heard she was continuing this amazing storyline with a graphic novel. Be still my heart! This is a 240 story that does go by quickly, but I wasn’t as impressed as I wanted to be. Maybe I had my hopes too high.

Wires and Nerve picks up almost right where Winter left off. Cinder is now the rightful Queen of Luna and things are slowly getting back to normal. The new threat is the rogue hybrid wolf packs that are roaming parts of Earth. They were left to fend for themselves after the battle ended and with nowhere to go, they chose to become a terror to people. Iko is the one that chooses to hunt these packs down and bring them to justice. Why Iko? She feels she is the most expendable one of the bunch. Iko does a pretty good job finding all of the packs but one Alpha chooses to hunt Iko down and use her as leverage to get Queen Cinder to reverse the horrid things that were done to make him an Alpha.

I will say this – this is a quick and interesting read but I just did not jive with the story line. I liked Iko’s character in the Lunar Chronicles but I didn’t see her as a lead character. She felt super whiney and “woe is me” throughout this entire story. She chose to leave on her own to hunt the wolves down because she was the only one who didn’t have a love interest. Uh… what? That didn’t make a lot of sense to me. Plus, it seemed Iko focused a lot on the fact she didn’t have a significant other, she wanted someone to love, and she wanted all of the attention. Make up your mind – is this a contemporary where Iko finds someone or is this an adventure where Cinder and the crew track down bad guys? The answer is neither. Cinder never leaves Luna; Thorne and Cinder travel everywhere; Wolf and Scarlet are on the farm in France; Winter and Jacin travel everywhere as well; Kai is on Earth still trying to deny his feelings for Cinder when they are pretty crystal clear from the original series. I did enjoy how the rest of the original group was brought back but it felt like too much. They never truly got back together. Each stayed where they were when Winter ended and that’s it. Every one of them had a scene or two but it felt forced, as if Meyer felt they all needed to have a presence. That’s an awful lot for only 240 pages.

Maybe I am let down because I had really high expectations for this graphic novel. That’s my fault. I expected more than what was delivered. I was underwhelmed to say the least. Plus, am I the only one that gets images in my head of what the characters should look like, then to see them completely different in a graphic novel makes me upset? I did not  picture any of the characters to be drawn the way they were. That was another let down for me. Again, my expectations were just too high.

I am bummed out that I did not enjoy this as much as I wanted to. I read it in just an hour or so. It is a quick read but it felt like everyone was forced to make an appearance in this story for the sake of saying they are in the story. They didn’t all add value to the overall storyline and that bothered me. I know I’ll still pick up the next installment of this graphic novel but I know I will go into it with much, much lower expectations.

 

sara-signature1

3 thoughts on “Review: Wires and Nerve (Wires and Nerve #1)

  1. I’m always wary when a series continues through graphic novels — I agree with you that having the artwork sometimes isn’t an advantage, because it might not jive with your version of how those characters look. I’ve had that happen way too many times. It seems like they didn’t take this book as a “serious” continuation and more just put it in for nostalgia value. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it. :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

