ARC Review: One of Us is Lying

One of Us Is Lying

 

I have been on a thriller kick lately so this was right up my alley. The blurb sounds amazing! Five kids go into detention, yet only four come out. WHAT? Sign me up! This was a wild and crazy ride with insane truths coming out and secrets revealed. Sadly, the ending felt like a let down and a cop out. I originally rated this book 4.5 stars but after letting it settle and really thinking about it, I may drop that rating a bit. **NOTE: I will not give anything away so please don’t freak out. I will try to be as vague as possible.**

Five teenagers walk into detention after school one day, only four leave alive. Simon was not liked by a lot of people as he was the mastermind behind the school’s gossip app. Simon somehow was able to get the latest and greatest gossip on everyone and it was almost always true. The deepest darkest secrets the students of this school tried to keep hidden were not off limits for the great Simon. That clearly meant he was on everyone’s radar. That also meant everyone could be a suspect after Simon suddenly died one day while in detention. Yet the other four students had their own reasons for wanting Simon dead and they also had the means. But who really did it?

This really was a roller coaster of a story. Who murdered Simon? Was it the bubbly cheerleader that is treated like an airhead? Or perhaps the brainy bright student that had Ivy League schools in her future and a ticket out of the small town? What about the jock? Would he have secrets that he was trying to hide that Simon found out about? Or, maybe, just maybe, it was the bad boy that has a history of breaking the law and being the known criminal? This seems like a random cast of characters but all of their lives intersect and it isn’t just because of Simon. Ignore for a moment these are stereotypical characters. The secrets that they are all hiding range from predictable to unbelievable (not in a good way). I will say that the characters themselves do develop and change as the story moves on but not all end up the way you think they will or want them to.

The thing that kept me hooked throughout this entire book was who killed Simon? Who would have been able to get away with that? That’s the intrigue that kept me turning pages as quickly as possible. What actually caused me to stop and wonder what was going on was the ending. The ending felt like an easy way out. When I was about 60% done with the book, it hit me that I knew what would happen and I was right. I really wish I hadn’t been right. It felt like it took the wind out of my sails. I really felt let down because  it was almost just too easy.

I don’t want to discourage anyone from reading this book. Please, pick this up and let me know what you think. I really hope I am alone with my thoughts. This was a good thriller to race to find out who dunnit, but for me the ending just felt lack luster.

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: One of Us is Lying

  1. I’m doing an arc on this book soon and I was really excited to read after seeing the blurb. Sad to see it’s slightly predictable

    Like

Leave a Reply

