Review: Trouble is a Friend of Mine (This is a big ball of NOPE)

Trouble Is a Friend of Mine (Trouble, #1)

 

What in the sam hill did I read in this story? I’m still not sure. I expected something so much more than what I got.

From Goodreads:

“The first time Philip Digby shows up on Zoe Webster’s doorstep, he’s rude and he treats her like a book he’s already read and knows the ending to.

But before she knows it, Zoe’s allowed Digby—annoying, brilliant, and somehow…attractive? Digby—to drag her into a series of hilarious, dangerous, and only vaguely legal schemes all related to the kidnapping of a local teenage girl. A kidnapping that might be connected to the tragic disappearance of his little sister eight years ago. When it comes to Digby, Zoe just can’t say no.

But is Digby a hero? Or is his manic quest an indication of a desperate attempt to repair his broken family and exorcise his own obsessive-compulsive tendencies? And does she really care anyway?”

Yep, I’m using the Goodreads blurb again. Why? Because I had a hard time figuring out the actual plot of this terrible story. The idea of this story did appeal to me but the delivery was bad. Oh so bad. The plot felt as if it was slapped together. There were holes so big you could drive a truck through them. It was not logical and it did not seem to fit together. Over all of that, it felt repetitive. It was causing me to roll my eyes more and more as it continued. I still don’t know why I actually finished.

Now onto the characters. I strongly disliked the characters. (Hate is such a strong word…) I never connected with any of them and I didn’t want to. I could not stand Digby for anything. I wanted to tie him to a chair and watch him wear himself out. His character was far too hyperactive and high strung. I wondered if he was manic throughout most of the book but apparently that was just his personality. It was awful. Zoe was no better. She was such a people pleasing pushover that she rarely stood up for herself. She found herself in situations that she didn’t want to be in or shouldn’t have been in only because she wouldn’t say “No”. The rest of the characters were not memorable. They could have been shadows in the background for all I remember of them.

What bothered me the most about this story is how juvenile it read. The voice of the characters sounded like they were very young, tweens almost. They certainly did not come across as if they were older teenagers. The lackluster plot felt overly simple and nowhere close to complicated. Digby and Zoe made it complicated for no reason. Maybe it was to move the story from Point A to Point B, but who knows. Don’t get me started on the cover either. I positively loathe the cover of this book. It does not speak to me on any level and originally caused me to avoid this book at all costs. I wish I had listened to my gut and just stayed away.

I cannot recommend this to anyone. I did not find anything funny or remotely funny about this story. I found the characters rude and underdeveloped at best. I wish I had DNFd when my gut told me to but I stuck it out and was even more disappointed than I thought I could be. I know I’m the black sheep on this book but alas, not every book is for every reader.

 

sara-signature1

 

Leave a Reply

