Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing…

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want A Book

 

Reviews: I am sure you are like me and browse Goodreads when you find a book you are interested in to see what others say about it. If I see a majority of my trusted book friends like it, consider me sold.

Story at the back of the book: Sometime, the brief description of the story at the back of the book is all you need to give it a try.

The book cover: I openly admit that I will judge a book by its cover. If it instantly grabs my attention, it will find its way into my shopping basket.

A friend recommends a book: If my trust book friends recommend a book to me, I will believe their judgment. They wouldn’t recommend a terrible book to me, would they?

Recommendations on GoodReads and Amazon: These sites know me so well and because of that, I have found some amazing authors/stories.

The author is an insta-buy: If the book is written but an author on my insta-buy list, I will have to own it. I don’t care if it is a published copy of their grocery list, I want it.

Author tours/book festivals: If an author is scheduled to be at a festival or book signing at a local store, I will buy the book. There is something about meeting the author and hearing them talk about their book that makes me want to own it.

Setting: If the book has a specific setting like Italy or France, I will immediately add it to my GR/Amazon wish list. No questions asked. Same goes for Genres – if it is a dystopian, I’m all over it like a cheap suit.

Key words: If there are keywords found anywhere in the blurb or description, count me in. Keywords being not limited to – beach, summer love, thriller, dystopian, road trip, and mystery.

 

It was rather difficult for me to get to ten items and I don’t know why I had that struggle. Can you think of a few items that would make you instantly want a book? Let me know!

sara-signature1

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want A Book

  1. I forgot to include it in my own list, but I’m definitely influenced by the cover. A beautiful cover can persuade me to read the book even if I’m not completely hooked on the story line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

