Review: Geekerella

Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

 

I have so much geek love for this story. The love I have for this story and characters is real. I will sing the praises of this book and push it on everyone forever. I’m warning you now so you won’t be surprised in the future.

Elle (Danielle) lost her father and is forced to live with her wicked stepmother and horrid stepsisters. They force her to do all of the physical labor around the house as it is clearly beneath them and they are better than everyone else. Elle dreams of leaving her small town and starting over, but she know she cannot until she turns 18. Until then, she escapes the woes of her life by indulging in her favorite fandom – Starfield. She grew up watching with her dad and knows every episode by heart. She loves it so much that she started a blog to share her thoughts and feelings. One day Elle gets a text from an unknown number asking about the ComiCon that Elle’s dad created – ExcelsiCon. ExcelsiCon is the premier ComiCon to go to and be seen at. She entertains the mystery number by texting back and soon she cannot stop texting this person. Who is the person texting her back that loves Starfield as much as she does? Will Elle be able to ever escape her wicked stepmom’s grasp and live the life she has dreamed of?

Oh my fragile, geek loving heart. This book was brilliant and delightful. I knew from the moment I started the story it would absolutely be my cup o’ tea.  I feel like Elle was my soul sista. I loved her character so much that I felt I would be friends with her in real life. The feelings I had for her ran deep. The poor girl was struggling with the loss of her father, a wicked stepmother, and horrid stepsisters, all while trying to figure out her place in the world. She had been isolated and believed she was in the fight by herself. Her resolve to keep her parents’ memory alive was inspiring. The love she had for her parents broke my little heart. I don’t blame her for wanting something bigger of herself, those were the values instilled in her. I found Elle’s character super easy to relate to and that made me love her character even more. I was also a big fan of Darien. I wondered if I would when he was introduced but once the author broke down his background, holy smokes was he complex! Loved it. Loved every single minute of it. I want more stories of Elle and Darien together. This needs to happen.

The big thing that stood out to me was the fandom and how it was used as a sense of comfort. This was important and necessary. I truly believe a lot of us have latched onto one or more fandoms and they have become a source of support. I say that with all the praise and respect I can put into these words. I love my fandoms because they have gotten me through some of the worst times of my life. I wouldn’t be where I am without them. I simply adore how Poston wrote them in the most positive light possible. That warmed me to my core. The convention scenes, the cosplays, the blog posts, the deep love for something fictional all hit me in right in the feels. It was heartwarming to see how something like those things could teach someone about real life and more. It was wonderfully done and I would love more of that.

I struggle with blog posts and reviews like this because I have all of the feels for this book, which causes me to struggle to put everything into words so please forgive my ramblings. I want to shout from the rooftops how amazing this story is! It felt like so much more than just a Cinderella retelling, as I stated above. This felt like a modern version of Ready Player One and we all know how I felt about that one. (hint: so many feels!) This was an absolute joy to read. I want to give Poston a hug and thank her for writing this, for having the foresight to know how this story was supposed to be told. Bottom line: this book made me happy. Just so very, very happy. I hadn’t had that in a while and honestly, I want more of that.

 

“Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

 

sara-signature1

2 thoughts on “Review: Geekerella

Leave a Reply

