Review: Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes #2)

Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes, #2)

 

While I did struggle to make it through the first book in this series, I was determined to not let it stop me from reading the second. Ice Like Fire was good but in my mind it was not better than the first.

Short recap: Angra has been defeated (perhaps?), and the Winterians have been freed from Spring. Meira is the new queen, while Winter has become a broken kingdom in search of a way to mend itself. The hunt is also on for a magical chasm that is said to have the power to change everything.

This book takes place not too long after the first book ends. I’m happy to report that the plot stays pretty true to the course and everything is straight forward. With that being said, it was almost too boring. There was no real secret as to what was going on and the path everyone took to get there was … uneventful, shall we say? In true huge book fantasy style, everything of importance happens in the last fifteen percent of the book. Authors, stop doing this. If you are writing close to 500 pages for me to read, do not bore me to tears until the last few chapters then hit me with a massive ending. The ending is the only thing that saved this book but it took so bloody long to get there. I zoned out about 60% of what I read because nothing was happening. Snoozefest. Boring. Yawn.

The characters within this story are pretty likeable. They were likeable in the first book and they continue to be likeable in the second. Take the protagonist, Meira. There were so few times that I found her annoying because that girl was so head strong and stubborn that I enjoyed her. At the same time, she never did anything outright to impress me. She filled the role of protagonist and that was it. See… likeable. Now enter Mather and Theron. The problem with them in this story is that Raasch is forcing a love triangle. STOP. That is not necessary. I don’t usually read high fantasy books thinking, “Hmmm… I sure do hope there’s a pointless love triangle involved! That would make things nifty!” I have no feelings towards either of them so take that with a grain of salt.

This really isn’t going to be a long(er) review because not much else happened in this story. Everything is predictable and expected (except the last 15% of the book – that’s where all of the action is). The wannabe love triangle is pointless and a full on dumpster fire so try to look past that. the rest of this world is pretty rad. I’m going to go with the masses and agree that the end of the book is where it is at, you just have to wade through a lot of muck to get there. I am willing to give book three a chance, only because most of the time I’m a glutton for punishment. Plus, this entire book did not irritate me enough to not want to find out what happens.

 

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

