Review: The End of Our Story

The End of Our Story

 

This book did not go the way I thought it would go. I was expecting a super gushy romantic contemp of two sweethearts that lost each other then found their way back. I’m here to tell you that is not what this book is about. Not one bit. It wasn’t bad but it was not necessarily good.

Short recap: Bridge and Wil have been inseparable from the day she moved to town. As they got older, it becomes clear they both want different things out of life. Wil is content to stay home and build ships while Bridge wants to get out and party. Bridge started making some really stupid decisions and after a particularly bad of drinking, things were over between her and Wil. Something tragic happens to Wil’s family a little later and suddenly Bridge forces herself back into his life as a crying shoulder. Can Wil let her back into his life after what she did?

This story felt all over the place. The chapters alternate POVs but one is present day and one is past day. That had me confused and made things not easy to follow. The pacing was super slow at times and I found myself bored during certain chapters. I figured out pretty early on in the book the real reason behind Wil disliking his dad so much. It didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure that out. I did not really like how long it took to get to that bombshell and how drawn it was but eventually the big reveal was made. There was no “OH MY GOSH!” coming from me. I saw it within the first 50 pages of the book.

The characters felt flat and forgettable. I did not like how the female protagonist, Bridge, was given every bridge nickname under the sun. Brooklyn. Golden Gate. London. Her name was Bridgette. Why couldn’t anyone just call her that? Given her a nickname did not make me relate to her or make her seem more cool. She was the character that I never liked no matter what. She was an idiot who did stupid things because she wanted to be bigger than the small town she was living in. She had no regard for who she hurt or who she took down with her. I never understood her motivations and quite frankly I don’t want to. I did feel bad for Wil and understood where his anger issues came from, but someone needed to sign him and his mom up for therapy ASAP.

Overall, this was just an okay story that was trying to deliver a really serious topic. Sadly it did not do a good job of that. Slow paced, bad characters, and a bad plot made me wish I had DNFd this story early on. There was so much potential but the author just did not deliver. Do not go into this thinking hearts, flowers, and rainbows because you won’t get any of that.

 

sara-signature1

Leave a Reply

