Review: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

 

Historical fiction has always been one of my least favorite topics to read. Most of the time I zone out with the details and descriptions of past events. Things have changed lately with more authors finding ways to tell a historical fiction story while making it fun or engaging. That is exactly what this story did. It was brilliant and I want everyone to read it.

Short recap: Henry Montague, aka Monty, is on his tour through Europe. He is a very outgoing, headstrong, and confident man who knows what he wants and likes in life. Monty is not alone on his tour, his sister (Felicity), and best friend (Percy) are along for the ride. Buckle up for a crazy adventure full of pirates, highwaymen, gambling, and hookups.

The number one thing that stood out to me in this entire story is that Monty is bisexual. He knows it and is proud of it. Why did this stand out to me? Because we have so few YA stories that are diverse enough to have a MC bisexual, for starters, and this kind of character is in 18th century England. What Mackenzie was able to do was create a story… a bloody brilliant, witty, and clever story that is so diverse it blew me away. It was not all about the white man’s fight for power and glory. OH NO! Monty was in love with his best friend, Percy, who happens to be biracial. I was constantly reminded of the struggles of non-white men during this time period because Percy was living them. It was so well written that I really did hurt for Percy. He was a nobleman but nobody believed him because of his skin color. Then we have Felicity, Monty’s sister. She was very well educated and head strong, but she was looked down on because she was a female. These social injustices and more were present in this story. It felt like a wonderfully written tale that showed the world was your oyster and you could do no wrong if you were white, male, and straight.

I found myself howling with laughter throughout most of this story! Monty’s wit and snark were on point and I quickly found that I wanted to be friends with him in real life. He could poke fun at himself while pointing out the ridiculousness of the events going on around him and his traveling companions. I also wanted to have as much self-confidence as Monty did. Maybe I’ll strive every day to be more like him.

The plot… oh the plot! It was … what’s the word I want to use… exhilarating! It was believable, enjoyable, and I didn’t want it to end! I was never twiddling my thumbs wondering when this would be over, it was the opposite. I listened to this audio in one day and I was heart broken when it was over. How can someone be bored when there are pirates and highwaymen involved?! And shall we finally talk about the romance and tension between Monty and Percy?

“Fetch me a couch, for I nearly swoon.”

I may not ship a lot of couples but this one will make me start. The attraction between these two is off the charts.

I really want everyone to read this story if they have not already. You won’t be disappointed! And keep in mind that Felicity’s story is next, THE LADY’S GUIDE TO PETTICOATS AND PIRACY! How can you not be excited for her story? Maybe there will be more pirates and highwaymen. One can certainly hope.

 

sara-signature1

 

Waiting on Wednesday: Now I Rise

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2)

 

 

From Goodreads:

“Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.”

 

I enjoyed And I Darken so much that it made me excited for the sequel! Did you read the first book? Are you anxious for the second? Let me know!

sara-signature1

Waiting on Wednesday: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

 

 

From Goodreads:

“An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artifact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, romantic, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a sumptuous romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.”

 

How excited are you for Mackenzi’s new novel? I cannot wait!

sara-signature1

Waiting on Wednesday: Aftercare Instructions

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

Aftercare Instructions by Bonnie Pipkin

Aftercare Instructions

 

 

From Goodreads:

In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, a big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy

“Troubled.” That’s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter—until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long-forgotten dream. But it’s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she’s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.

This powerfully immersive and format-crushing debut follows Gen from dorm rooms to diners to house parties to auditions—and ultimately, right into readers’ hearts.”

 

This sounds like a remarkable story and I cannot wait to read it. How about you?

sara-signature1

Waiting on Wednesday: We Come Apart

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan

We Come Apart

 

 

From Goodreads:

From two acclaimed authors comes an emotional story told in verse about friendship, love, and overcoming unbeatable odds.

Authors Brian Conaghan and Sarah Crossan have joined forces to tell the story of Nicu and Jess, two troubled teens whose paths cross in the unlikeliest of places.

Nicu has emigrated from Romania and is struggling to find his place in his new home. Meanwhile, Jess’s home life is overshadowed by violence. When Nicu and Jess meet, what starts out as friendship grows into romance as the two bond over their painful pasts and hopeful futures. But will they be able to save each other, let alone themselves?
For fans of Una LaMarche’s Like No Other, this illuminating story told in dual points of view through vibrant verse will stay with readers long after they’ve turned the last page.”

 

Have you heard of this one? Is it on your TBR?

sara-signature1

Waiting on Wednesday: Bad Romance

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Bad Romance

 

 

From Goodreads:

“Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.”

 

I have loved all of Heather’s previous books so she is an insta-buy author for me. I cannot wait to get my hands on this!

sara-signature1