Waiting on Wednesday: Otherworld

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

This week’s pre-publication “can’t-wait-to-read” selection is:

 

Otherworld by Jason Segel

Otherworld (Otherworld, #1)

 

 

From Goodreads:

The company says Otherworld is amazing—like nothing you’ve ever seen before. They say it’s addictive—that you’ll want to stay forever. They promise Otherworld will make all your dreams come true.

Simon thought Otherworld was a game. Turns out he knew nothing. Otherworld is the next phase of reality. It’s everything you’ve ever wanted.

And it’s about to change humanity forever.
Welcome to the Otherworld. No one could have seen it coming.

 

This sounds so interesting. I’m anxious to get my hands on the book.

sara-signature1

Advertisements

Traitor’s Hope Blog Tour: Book Review and Giveaway

TRAITOR'S HOPE

www.rockstarbooktours.com

2950337_orig.png

About the Book:

New CoverTitle: TRAITOR’S HOPE (Blade’s Edge #2)

Author: Virginia McClain

Pub. Date: October 14, 2017

Publisher: Artemis Dingo Productions

Pages: 284

Formats: Paperback eBook

Find it: AmazonBuy The Paperback, Goodreads

 

Traitors lurk around every bend. Mishi’s mind is betraying her, and she fears her kisō and katana will betray her next. Taka’s heart abandons her for a person she cannot possibly trust. Now that the two friends are obliged to help re-establish peace in the land of Gensokai, the only question is where the next betrayal will come from and if Mishi and Taka will have the strength to survive it.

2950337_orig.png

Review:

This book was such an enjoyable read! It is the second in a series so don’t go into it thinking this is a standalone or first of a new series. I had not read the first but that did not stop me from really liking what I read. It was easy to follow and figure out as I kept reading. The overall story itself was very intriguing, thoughtful, and action packed. It really does not read like a second book so it doesn’t have that second-book syndrome. The characters were so thought out and well developed that it was easy to connect with them. I felt like I was on the journey with them and I couldn’t wait to see how everything ended. I was in this for the long haul.

There are only two small grievances: some character’s names were too closely spelled the same and as a result I sometimes got them confused. AND some of the POV chapters were so short – only a page or two – that it left me wondering why it was included. But please know this did not take away from the overall story. I still kept reading and I still liked this in the end.

Please, give this a try and you won’t be disappointed!

2950337_orig.png

About Virginia:

V and ArtemisVirginia thinks dangling from the tops of hundred foot cliffs is a good time. She also enjoys hauling a fifty pound backpack all over the Grand Canyon and sleeping under the stars. Sometimes she likes running for miles through the desert, mountains, or wooded flatlands, and she always loves getting lost in new places where she may or may not speak the language.

From surviving earthquakes in Japan, to putting out a small forest fire in Montana, Virginia has been collecting stories from a very young age. She works hard to make her fiction as adventurous as her life and her life as adventurous as her fiction. Both take a lot of imagination.

She recently moved to Winnipeg with her husband (a Manitoba native) and their dog.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

2950337_orig.png

 

Giveaway Details:

 

1 winner will receive a signed paperback set of BLADE’S EDGE & TRAITOR’S HOPE, US Only.

3 winners will receive eBook sets of BLADE’S EDGE & TRAITOR’S HOPE, International.

 

Rafflecopter link:

 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2646/?

2950337_orig.png

 

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

10/9/2017- Two Chicks on Books Interview

10/9/2017- Blushing Bibliophile– Review

 

10/10/2017- Arvenig.it– Guest Post

10/10/2017- Bibliobakes– Review

 

10/11/2017- Kati’s Bookaholic Rambling Reviews– Excerpt

10/11/2017- Ashley M. Delgado– Review

 

10/12/2017- A Dream Within A Dream– Excerpt

10/12/2017- Don’t Judge, Read– Spotlight

 

10/13/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

10/13/2017- Adventures Thru Wonderland– Review

 

Week Two:

10/16/2017- Novel Novice– Excerpt

10/16/2017- Nick Bryan Dot Com– Review

 

10/17/2017- Books at Dawn– Guest Post

10/17/2017- YA and Wine– Excerpt

 

10/18/2017- Fire and Ice– Spotlight

10/18/2017- A Gingerly Review– Review

 

10/19/2017- My Nook, Books & More– Excerpt

10/19/2017- Jena Brown Writes– Review

 

10/20/2017- Seeing Double In Neverland– Interview

10/20/2017- Ramblings From An Alternate Reality– Review

 

sara-signature1

Top Ten Tuesday: Books with Food on the Cover

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week they have a different theme for bloggers to post their top tens about, and this week I’m listing…

Books with Food on the Cover

 

 

IT COUNTS!

Twilight (Twilight, #1)

 

 

Sweethearts

 

 

The Art of Lainey (The Art of Lainey, #1)

 

 

Love & Gelato

 

 

The Unlikelies

 

 

What I Lost

 

 

When Dimple Met Rishi

 

 

You Wish

 

 

Models Don't Eat Chocolate Cookies

 

 

Bittersweet

 

This TTT was not as easy as it sounded! There are not that many books with food on the cover so let me know if you can think of one I didn’t include here. 🙂

sara-signature1

ARC Review: Dear Martin

Dear Martin

 

This. Story.

THIS. STORY.

This is needed. This is current. This is relevant. This is NEEDED.

Short recap: Justyce McAllister has not had an easy life but he is brilliant. His mom has sacrificed a lot to put him in the best school that will give him the best opportunity to make it far in life. The one problem? Justyce is a black teenager. He is constantly profiled by the police and faces racism on a daily basis. Justyce writes letters to Dr. King Jr as he has started a project – Be more like Martin. Can Justyce do that? Can he be the bigger person when so many people still judge him based completely on the color of his skin?

This debut novel left me speechless. I read it in one day and I wish I could read it again for the first time. DAMN. This was raw, emotional, needed, and masterfully done. Nic Stone is an author that everyone needs to remember because she will do great things, has already done great things.

Reading this book, I felt a wide range of emotions: anger, hatred, disgust, fear, sorrow, and hope. I was screaming, shaking, and sobbing as well. It takes a powerful story to do that and that was exactly what I found between the covers of this book. Stone hit it out of the park. This felt real. I felt as if I was standing right beside Justyce the entire time he was going through everything. I knew there were a lot… a lot of injustices out in the world but this story felt like Stone plucked me out of my cozy suburbia home and put me right in the middle of Justyce’s story. She broke my heart and opened my eyes at the same time. I don’t know a lot of authors that have that much control with their words. Stone must have some hidden magic she isn’t tell anyone about.

I feel she captured the teenage experience, struggle, and daily battles with grace. Justyce was a brilliant teenager trying to get into the best college possible so he can overcome his upbringing. He was fully submerged in his studies and after school activities. He was also surrounded by a wonderful circle of friends. I think that made a big difference. Justyce had a great support group that he could always reach out to for help. Hands down he was my favorite character because he stayed true to himself no matter what.

I feel like I’m tripping over my words here. I don’t want to give too much of the story away but I want everyone to read it. Know that a major life changing event happens that throws Justyce’s world on its head and it will shatter your heart. It will make you scream in anger, cry in sorrow, and weep with hope. Please, add this to your TBR if you have not already. Read this story and come back to tell me your thoughts.

 

sara-signature1

Books Left Unread #98

Wallpaper-Books

Books Left Unread

Welcome to my blog post where I talk about the books I have been meaning to read, but just have not yet. You know what I am talking about – the books that have remained unread for various reasons yet when you see them you think, “You know, I really need to read that.” Instead you get distracted by another book, series, or something in your TBR pile. It happens to the best of us. I want to spotlight those books in the hope that I can persuade myself to move them up on my TBR list.

This week’s post is dedicated to:

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols

Such a Rush

 

I don’t remember how I got a copy of this book but I see it every time I browse my shelves. I have no clue why I haven’t read it other than I know nothing about it or the author. Have you read this one?

sara-signature1

Review: The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl, #1)

 

I recently featured this book on my weekly meme “Books Left Unread”. I stated I had been putting it off because of the “Based on the YouTube web series phenomenon”. I am not a fan of watching YouTube series so I didn’t know anything about this other than it was supposed to be about a haunting. This, my dear readers, was anything but a scary book. It will not haunt you, nor will it keep you awake at night.

Short recap: Sunshine (yes, that’s her name) moves with her mom to Washington State. The house they move into gives Sunshine the creeps and soon, weird things start happening. A ghost starts playing games with Sunshine but her mom doesn’t believe her. Can Sunshine help the ghost and figure out what is going on?

Well, that’s the book in a nutshell. I will state again – this is not scary, creepy, or even eerie. It felt too fluffy and light-hearted to be a true horror-type story. I found myself quicking wishing I would DNF this story but I was stubborn and stayed with it. Oh what a fool I was. It got worse the more it continued. Everything was just all over the charts and not in a good way.

Apparently Sunshine’s character was supposed to be “adorkable” and to that I laugh. AHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA! HA! She was not “adorkable”, she was a struggle. The girl felt like a type of manic pixie dream girl and that means I instantly cannot stand her. She was the dutiful daughter that did whatever her mother wanted in order to make her happy. She never caused trouble, never snuck out of the house, never argued with her mother, and she never cussed. That’s right! She said phrases like, “gosh dang it” and “Jeezus Loueezus” and “Good golly!”. *sigh* I wanted to slug her. She was also that character that was trying too hard, like a special snowflake. She dressed different, in vintage clothes she found at a thrift shop, she was a book nerd. she had specially different eyes, and collected unicorns of every color. WHO. CARES. That did not make me like her, that made her into a female trope. Give me a break.

Her character never developed or got better as the weak story continued. She did catch the eye of the super cute edgy guy (Nolan) at school that no girl has gotten close to before. gag See, girl trope. Even her mom was forgettable. She was in the story for an obvious reason if you read it but she didn’t add anything as a character. Neither did Nolan. He brooded around in his grandfather’s original leather jacket and drove his grandfather’s car. Whooptie freaking doo. Get over yourself already.

The overall story was grossly underwhelming. If this was such a huge sensation on YouTube then why wasn’t this… better? It was not flushed out, developed, thought through, or hashed out. This didn’t even read like a YA book, it read like a MG book.  As for the ghost within the story? Weak. Sauce. Again, do not go into this expecting or even hoping that you will be scared because it won’t happen. The ghost is supposed to tie to this spooky overall mystic plan that is tied to Sunshine but it doesn’t make a lot of sense. The way it was presented was odd because it was done by an alternate POV male voice (according to the audio) that gives zero information as to what is going on. It did nothing but confuse me further. It was not a huge surprised when the mystery announced who they were, I saw it from the first time he was introduced.

Not hard to realize that I did not like this book. I am a fool for thinking this would be better than what it was. It felt more like a Scooby-Doo episode rather than a scary story. I wanted to like this more than I did because I really like the author and think she is a marvelous person, but this story just was not. I won’t be reading the rest of the series or even checking this out on YouTube. I don’t care enough for that.

 

sara-signature1

ARC Review: Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)

Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #2)

 

Oh Wadsworth and Cresswell. How you two have a part of my heart.

Short recap: Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell have been accepted to participate in an exclusive forensics training, which happens to be the former home of the one and only Prince Dracula. A strange series of deaths takes place and this famous duo springs to action to try to solve the mystery of what is really happening.

I thought Maniscalco hit it out of the park with Stalking Jack the Ripper… I was wrong. She only made the series better with her second book in the series! Hunting Prince Dracula was bloody brilliant. I thought I loved Wadsworth and Cresswell in the first book but this story made me love them more, if that is even possible. This story starts just weeks after SJTR. Audrey Rose is still shaken by the events that took place in book 1, but she has her faithful partner, Thomas, with her to keep an eye out for her. Both characters were deeply developed and wonderfully complex. They grew so much from the first book to this one…. and they continued to grow! Even their romance continued to grow and it was magical to witness. Thomas still had his undeniable charm and Audrey Rose tried to ignore his advances. The way they were together, no matter what the situation was, was amazing to read. They could be in a forensics class cutting up a dead body or waltzing around a castle – the chemistry was just there and it was hot. It had me blushing at times and that’s saying something. Thomas was such a smooth talker that I wanted to claim him for my own book boyfriend. (Is he claimed yet? I want to claim him.) Thomas was not without his secrets and they are revealed in this story. They just made me like him even more.

The plot of this story was marvelous. Maniscalco did a wonderful job of researching and it showed in this story. The entire thing flowed like honey. It was a pleasure to read and I never wanted it to end. I was fascinated with the story of Prince Dracula and the way Maniscalco weaved her tale surrounding the Prince. Was he coming back to life? Was he the one responsible for killing the people and draining them dry of blood? You know I won’t give anything away but you will not be left wanting at the end of this one. Oh who am I kidding – you’ll definitely want more Wadsworth and Cresswell action.

I swear, Maniscalco must have some hidden magic up her sleeve because when she writes, I am transported to the world she has created. I never wanted to leave. I wanted to follow Wadsworth and Cresswell long after the story finished. I felt as if I was with these characters in the castle during those cold and blustery nights. I believed I was in those dark and frightening tunnels with this duo. I just could not put this story down, it had me from the first word. I swear, this author has magic in her words. Be warned – you won’t want to put this down once you start. You might forego meals, work, and even sleep just so you can stay in this world just a little bit longer.

I’m making my proclamation here and now – Kerri Maniscalco is now an instabuy author for me going forward. I promise that if she publishes her grocery list, I’ll buy it. If she writes a recipe for apple pie, I will own a copy. I will forever read whatever she writes because this author is gold. I hope I have done a small bit of justice to this story. Bottom line – bloody brilliant. Everyone needs to borrow/read/own this story so they can experience Maniscalco’s words. You won’t be sorry.

 

sara-signature1